Hv Battery red triangle.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Kam2, Aug 12, 2019.

  1. Kam2

    Kam2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    14
    8
    0
    Location:
    new york
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I have Prius 2008 and I noticed red triangle error message, I replaced the bad cell it was 6,5volt , then the error still coming back,
    I have found a used battery was taking from 2009 Prius that was involved in an accident.it has 54k miles.
    but the battery was sitting without use for one year.
    Can I go ahead with that battery?
     
  2. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    87,562
    38,973
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    probably, if they are telling you the truth, but it could be dead as a doornail from sitting for a year at that age, and needing as much rebuilding as yours.

    you should get one from 'newpriusbatteries.co', or, if you can't afford $1,600., get tech stream and learn how to properly rebuild a battery
     
    Kam2 likes this.
  3. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    2,693
    2,902
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    If you have the RTD, there should be codes (DTCs) stored. Have you used an OBD2 code reader to retrieve such?

    Before swapping out the battery, I would read the codes as that would be an easier job.
     
    Kam2 likes this.
  4. Kam2

    Kam2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    14
    8
    0
    Location:
    new york
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Thank you for your respond
    I have P0A80-P3011-P3020-P3024
    I am attaching screen shoot from Torque app. I think I have few bad cells. or just need to balance them.
    I bought 2 EV-Peak chargers, I will start charge and discharge each cell 3 times.
     

    Attached Files:

    bisco and SFO like this.
  5. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    87,562
    38,973
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    i think you're on the right path
     
  6. Kam2

    Kam2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    14
    8
    0
    Location:
    new york
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    One more question. Is that ok to mix and match Prius blocks.
    I was thinking to buy 10-15 blocks that has good voltage and they test good as well. Then remove 10-15 blocks from current battery and then replace them.
     
  7. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    4,344
    2,324
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    If you had to do that you should really consider replacing all the modules with new ones.
     
  8. Kam2

    Kam2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    14
    8
    0
    Location:
    new york
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I am aware that the best solution is to get new battery, but I drive only 10k miles yearly or less.I want to just recondition the current battery. hopefully I can get 1 or 2 years out of it.
     
  9. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    87,562
    38,973
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    i don't know anything about mixing blocks, i would read through the rebuilding threads, there is a lot of experienced advice
     
  10. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    4,344
    2,324
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    So, just replace the ones necessary, don't over think it.
     
  11. 2k1Toaster

    2k1Toaster Brand New Prius Batteries

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    5,784
    3,437
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Mountains
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    A sitting car will kill the battery. End of story. The older the battery, the more mismatched they are and the more the self discharge varies which makes the pack unbalanced and throws a code. Start playing whack-a-mole or inserting who-knows-what modules into the system and now you just have a mess.

    You are a good candidate for a grid charge type system.
     
  12. Kam2

    Kam2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    14
    8
    0
    Location:
    new york
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Unfortunately I live in Nyc in an apartment building. I wont be able to use the grid changer.
    I decided to replace all modules with 3 gen Prius modules. I tested 10 so far and they are all above 6000mAh.

    I will charge them once then discharge, I have Capacity Cut-off at 7500mAh. then I will charge them halfway.
    Later on I will connect all negative and all positive discharge them together for 24 hour and then charge them.
     

    Attached Files:

    #12 Kam2, Aug 21, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2019
    Skibob, SFO and bisco like this.
  13. Skibob

    Skibob Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    2,769
    1,421
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    So you have the battery pack in your apartment? Just remember to keep the modules bolted together when you charge them.
     
  14. Kam2

    Kam2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    14
    8
    0
    Location:
    new york
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Yes I have all cells bolted together.
    Here is my update:
    I was testing my 3rd gen cells and I found first 10 were in great shape. they were 6.5 Ah. But the remaining cells were quite different.
    Some are 5Ah and some 3Ah. anyways I decided to return them to my supplier .
    I kept only the first 10 they were from 2012 Prius (pm me if you want them).

    Then I decided to look for a battery in the junk yard, I found a battery for 2015 Prius that was involved in an accident.
    Checked the vin #, then pulled carfax, car has 91k miles. last driving on 8/7/2019.

    I picked up the battery, removed the old battery, then put the 2015 battery. have been driving the car for past 3 days. no error message so far. car has more power and much faster.
     
    #14 Kam2, Sep 9, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2019
    Skibob likes this.
Loading...