1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

HV Battery Repair Advice

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by supertrooper808, Nov 14, 2018.

1. supertrooper808

supertrooper808 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    My friend got a free Prius. I am attaching the tech stream data I got of the vehicle and it was a first a p3000 now a P0A80 shows up. Specifically it says Block #5 is weak. I don't know how to rebalance if I buy just one cell so was thinking about getting a Rebuild from Falcon Hybrid for $800. Let me know what the data reveals and any advice would be epic. I live in Hawaii so little hard to get a full replacement here . Falcon Hybrid ships the separated cells so Repacking can be done, I am a DIY mechanic and this doesn't look hard to me. Aloha!

Attached Files:

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    falcon is the worst. search them here. see if @2k1Toaster will ship there

SFO likes this.
  3. exstudent

exstudent Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    You wouldn't buy used tires expecting it last as long as a new one? That is what you are expecting with the "rebuilds."

The chemicals and seals in the modules wear out. How do you "rebuild/refurbish/remanufacture" this? You can't. Thus the problem w/ rebuilds. They take the best of the worst modules and put them into a Frankenstein pack, and call it "rebuilt/remanufactured/reconditioned/etc."

Many people before you were lured by the cheap price, and "warranty", on a "rebuilt" HV battery. All of these people who kept the car, expecting longevity, have come to REGRET their wasteful decision. The people who have NOT regretted this are those who quickly sold the car to the next unsuspecting victim.

If you value reliability, you go with a new OEM HV Battery or 2k1Toaster's option.