1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

HV Pack Voltages & Grid Charging

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Artric, Oct 13, 2010.

1. Artric

Artric Junior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Howdy folks!

I'm an Gen 1 Insight driver myself, and put together a plug-in charger for my car a little while ago (based on instruction from Mike Dabrowski at 99MPG.com), and I'm now helping out others by putting together kits while I'm currently unemployed.

I made a new friend in the process who is interested in improving upon it, and also applying it to the Prius. So I'm wondering if someone has already done this, and if so, where can I find the information?

The first thing I need to know is the maximum voltage expected from the battery. In my case, I have 120 1.2v NiMH batteries that generally provide at max of around 170v. By that math, your 168 1.2v NiMH batteries should produce a max around 235v. However, I'm a bit confused, because phev.org states that the maximum voltage is 302v, which is much higher! :eek:

Would someone mind clearing that up for me? :confused: Maybe I'm missing a gap of knowledge in the technology differences.

Next, could you guys please confirm that the best connection points are directly to the battery? On my car, we connect to a large precharge resistor that is before the positive terminal, but I see that the Enginer kit connects directly to your HV battery terminals. Also, do you happen to have the size/type of terminals that are required to connect there?

Finally, I'd want to make sure to get power to the stock battery pack fan while charging. On my car it's a simple 12v connection that we splice in. Is that possible on the Pruis, or is there a more complicated solution?