Hybrid Assistant Missing Data?

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by SavingMoneyisNice, Feb 3, 2019.

  1. SavingMoneyisNice

    SavingMoneyisNice New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    3
    0
    0
    Location:
    Victoria BC
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Technology
    So how many of you proud owners use Hybrid Assistant for your car for the extra features and data? I tried to!
    But some of the info is missing, i only get to see my engine temp and rpm's!
    The brake icon doesn't work, the temps for the battery doesn't work either.
    Am i forced to buy the expensive 100 dollar OBD2 adaptor to see everything?
    I'm using a 25 dollar VeePeak and on the HybridAssistant App it thinks I am a Prius Prime (I just have a normal prius)
    So maybe it's just the OBD2 connector I have?
    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. john1701a

    john1701a Prius Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    11,109
    4,019
    52
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    That would be a reasonable guess. Unless you pay for a professional grade, it simply won't have the resources to send that much on-the-fly data. Here's the one I use:



    This is my newest video, which exploits that opportunity to show lots of real-world data you wouldn't normally get to see:

     
  3. alanclarkeau

    alanclarkeau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    4,238
    5,139
    0
    Location:
    near Brisbane, Australia
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    A cheap unit can be useful - but has far less scope than the one a pro uses. A professional's portable one will cost him nearer $2,500.
     
Loading...