Hybrid Automotive's Prolong System question

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by goku9384, Mar 29, 2018.

Tags:
  1. goku9384

    goku9384 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    47
    37
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Quick question regarding Hybrid Automotive's Prolong System. I recently replaced a bad cell in block 5 with with an ebay cell(I know this is only a band aid fix). Car ran great for a month with no issues but now I'm getting the red triangle of death on the same block p3015 error code. With the torque app I noticed same block 5 voltage seems to be 0.5V - 1V higher while charging and 0.5V - 1V lower while under load. Will getting the Prolong Deluxe Reconditioning package help balance block 5 with the others and get rid of the p3015 error code. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. k1ngn0thing

    k1ngn0thing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    105
    24
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    as long as none of the modules are actually failing it should probably work. I tried it when I got a code and it threw the failing module even further out of balance.
     
  3. goku9384

    goku9384 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    47
    37
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    So using the hybrid automotive prolong system made it worse?
     
  4. k1ngn0thing

    k1ngn0thing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    105
    24
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I would say it brought the issue to light by hastening what would have happened anyway to that module.

    how old is your battery? sometimes it's better just to buy a new pack. IIRC you can get them for $1600 from Toyota these days.

    since both problems have been in block 5, it's possible they were both going bad at about the same rate.
     
    #4 k1ngn0thing, Mar 29, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2018
  5. edthefox5

    edthefox5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    8,952
    4,119
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Prolong really only works if the battery is healthy enough that it has not thrown a code and no modules are basically dead or really struggling to hold a change like your block 5. Some batteries are unrecoverable. Alot of batteries are unrecoverable.
     
  6. edthefox5

    edthefox5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    8,952
    4,119
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two

    Where is Toyota selling a new battery for $1600? I want one.
     
  7. k1ngn0thing

    k1ngn0thing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    105
    24
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I've seen it mentioned a few times on the forums, can't pinpoint where exactly.
     
  8. edthefox5

    edthefox5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    8,952
    4,119
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Your thinking of 2K's cylindrical battery system not Toyota OEM battery. He is selling his retrofit kit for $1600.
     
    k1ngn0thing likes this.
  9. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    10,745
    14,693
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    If by replacing a bad cell, do you mean a bad module? If so, why not replace both in block 5? How did you determine which of the modules to replace ?

    The Prolong equipment can be used to save a failed pack. I’ve loaned out equipment out for that very purpose and it worked out well for that member;).

    Keep us posted (y).
     
    Skibob, SFO and WilDavis like this.
  10. goku9384

    goku9384 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    47
    37
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Im not sure which cell in block 5. It could be the bad one I replaced last month with the cell from ebay or the second cell cell that was originally part of block 5 which was good. I know one off the cells does not hold much charge as it charges up real fast and voltage discharge is much higher compared to the rest of the blocks. However at idle the voltage at block 5 matches with all other blocks. The difference in voltage can only be seen when the battery is being discharged/accelerating or when charging/braking this is what results in p3015 error. If the prolong equipment can help bring one of cells back in block 5 I will definitely give it try.
     
  11. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    5,128
    2,764
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Are you sure you changed Block 5? Count the blocks from the opposite end from where the ECU and electronics are (Passenger side for LHD cars). If you did, then the module (not cell) you put in is not well matched to your other modules and is charging and discharging at a faster rate than the remaining good modules in your pack. You need to find another module that matches your existing ones better. As Raytheeagle said, you may be better the change both modules in block 5.
    If you are asking if it will fix this bad module in block 5 the no, it won't, as this is not what is the problem. You have a module with lower capacity and no amount of charging or balancing will bring it into line with the others.
    No, he has seen posts for Toyota OEM. The new retail price for genuine OEM is $1950 and some online Toyota parts places like Olathe have been seen to offer them for close to wholesale at $1625 or $1650. Whether you can actually get them for that price though, remains to be seen.
     
    fotomoto and Raytheeagle like this.
  12. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    10,745
    14,693
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    The Prolong equipment will help balance the whole pack so the differences between blocks and modules is reduced;).

    If you have no way to balance the pack, the replacement module activity will be extremely frequent:(.

    Do you know what the serial number is for the module you replaced (what letter did it start with)?

    Good luck with your project (y).
     
  13. edthefox5

    edthefox5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    8,952
    4,119
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Just went to Olathe and lists battery for $1625 and in big red letters says CANT SHIP.
    And just cause it says $1625 does not mean you can buy that part and walk out if you live locally.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  14. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    5,128
    2,764
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yup aware of all of this. That is why we are eagerly awaiting a report of someone buying the battery for this price.

    BTW, Olathe is not the only one offering a low price.
     
  15. edthefox5

    edthefox5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    8,952
    4,119
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
  16. goku9384

    goku9384 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    47
    37
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Just an update on my situation. The ebay module I replaced with the bad module was actually bad. After taking out the HV battery I noticed that ebay module was leaking battery fluid pretty badly which in turn was degrading the battery capacity. Ordered a replacement module and 300 miles later no code and car running great. All module voltages are stable and in line with each other in torque app.
     
  17. jeff652

    jeff652 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    591
    615
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Sorry to hear this. You are not the first customer of ours who has used the system with an eBay/Amazon module and it turned out to be worse than the original module that was replaced. This is why we started offering modules directly on our website, to help our customers avoid this situation.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  18. goku9384

    goku9384 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    47
    37
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Update2: 1500 miles later car still running great with Amazon replacement module. I'm closing into 150k total miles...I'm planning to do a 600 mile road trip at the end of the month do you think its a good idea to drive the prius?
     
    j12piprius likes this.
  19. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    10,745
    14,693
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Where are you headed? If the 600 mike road trip is near populated areas, I’d say go for it:).

    If headed out through the desert woth the family, I’d think a bit before trekking out;).

    If you had an issue, you’d never hear the end of it:oops:.

    I would ensure the pack is charged up and top end balanced at least before the trip:).

    What I do with our 2010 is take the hybrid automotive charger woth us on trips and that way if I need it, I have it;).

    Good luck and keep us posted (y).
     
    SFO likes this.
  20. goku9384

    goku9384 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    47
    37
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I'm going to Las Vegas from San Diego round trip. I'm still debating on taking the prius. I have done this trip many times with the prius before but based on my recent issue with a failed cell. I have that feeling that another one may be on the way out soon and it seems to happen at worst times like when on a road trip lol.
     
    #20 goku9384, May 7, 2018
    Last edited: May 7, 2018
    edthefox5 likes this.
Loading...