1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Hybrid Battery Fan Speeds

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by MattLTH, Jan 25, 2018.

1. MattLTH

MattLTH Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello, Chatters,

I'm new to PriusChat, but now I have a question:

A brief background: My original Gen2 (2007) hybrid battery started failing (DTC P0A80 and P3015), so I ordered a rebuilt battery (with Gen3 modules) from Falcon Hybrid. It arrived today, and I installed it myself, but I decided not to put in the rear seats, side panels, or cargo covers on until after a series of test drives. (Note: All vents and ducts have been re-attached for safety.)

The test drives exhibited the same rapid charging and draining as the original battery, plus the P0A80 error. But the new battery is showing P3016 rather than P3015, so different module pairs are producing different errors on the two different battery packs. I've sent an after-hours message to Falcon for direction on how to handle situations like this.

But here's my real question: Does anyone know if the normal operation of the battery fan is related to the vehicle speed? Since all the side panels are still off, I think I can hear the hybrid cooling fan running, and it seems to speed up and slow down in relation to the vehicle speed. (When the P0A80 error occurs, the fan constantly runs at high-speed until I reset the code with my ScanGaugeII.) I can't tell if it's the battery fan or just road noise I'm hearing. (Ambient air temperatures were 40 - 50 degrees Fahrenheit during the test drives.) I thought the fan is off until the battery needs cooling, so I'm wondering if the MPH-based behavior of the fan is indicative of the battery failure I'm experiencing. Rather than put the old battery back in, I thought I'd ask the question here first.

Thanks in advance,

MattLTH

2. TMR-JWAP

TMR-JWAP Senior Member