1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Hybrid Battery Issue?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Euro, Jun 27, 2022.

1. Euro

Euro New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    2008 Toyota Prius
    160k miles

see photo for dash indicators

No issues outside a recent Cat Converter theft. Had it replaced by Toyota 1 year ago.

Turned on the car this morning, starts up just fine, but I’m getting all these indicators on my dash. My first thought is hybrid battery. Any other ideas?

If it is the hybrid battery, I don’t have $2-3k to drop to buy a new one as I’m a student and this is my only vehicle.

Questions:

1) likely hybrid battery?
    2) if it is the hybrid battery, am I literally out of luck here, or are the alternatives?
    Thanks so much.

Attached Files:

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Well as a college student, you may want to start and learn to do a little DIY to your car so you don't have to pay the big bucks when you need service. The maintenance light that's on, when was the last time you did maintenance on the car?

Those lights just mean there's a problem detected, without knowing symptoms, you can't even guess at it.

3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!

there is no way to know. the lights can mean a thosand things. more importantly, they mean you have specific trouble codes to be read. as a college student, are you tech savvy? 50 bucks and a windows laptop can provide answers

4. Euro

Euro New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    About 6 months ago. It was a smooth maintenance and nothing out of the norm was detected. I haven’t seen that maintenance light on. All these lights are really just sudden. So I guess I should take it to the dealer and have them run diagnostics.

5. Euro