"Hybrid System" fuse missing

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Kristen678, Aug 26, 2020.

  1. Kristen678

    Kristen678 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    14
    5
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    While troubleshooting another problem, I learned that the 7.5 amp AM1 Hybrid System fuse is missing from the fuse box under the driver's dash. I bought it used and have been driving it this way for two years without any warning lights or indications something was amiss. I've been trying to get specific information on what this fuse actually does but I keep turning up zilch. I'm particularly curious about this because after I bought the car, I learned a shady dealership hobbled together a hybrid battery to replace the original and created a pretty dangerous situation. Luckily, and thankfully, I discovered the issue and replaced the battery but I'm thinking it may have been them that pulled the fuse. How can the car function without this fuse?
    Does anyone know?
    Thanks
     
    bisco likes this.
  2. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    90,931
    40,860
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    techinfo.toyota.com
     
  3. davecook89t

    davecook89t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    924
    669
    0
    Location:
    Washington State, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Looking through the manual at all the references to AM1, about 1/3 of them are in the Smart Key System section. There are probably other systems whose wiring runs through this fuse, but just as a point of interest, does your car have a Smart Key and does it function like it should (i.e. can you open the door without removing your key from your pocket or purse and start the car without inserting the key in the key slot)?
     
  4. Elektroingenieur

    Elektroingenieur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    1,997
    2,698
    9
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    I’m not sure there is supposed to be a fuse called “AM1” on your car.

    The Owner’s Manual (PDF) shows it on page 430, as item 14 in the list, but the Electrical Wiring Diagram for 2006 Prius cars (EM01R0U, more info) doesn’t: the illustration of the Driver Side J/B (junction block) shows no fuse in that position, and neither the System Circuit nor the Power Source sections mentions any fuse called “AM1.”

    For model year 2004, there were fuses called AM1 and AM2, feeding the AM1 and AM2 power supply inputs of the Power Source Control ECU, respectively. For model years 2005 and later, however, it seems that Toyota eliminated the AM1 fuse, leaving the AM1 and AM2 inputs both fed from the AM2 fuse. It’s likely that when this design change was made, the junction block and its label weren’t modified, probably to avoid the costs of creating and stocking another version of those parts.

    The ECU monitors these inputs, by the way, and if one were faulty, diagnostic trouble code B2271 would be stored.
     
    SFO, jerrymildred, edthefox5 and 2 others like this.
  5. Kristen678

    Kristen678 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    14
    5
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It looks like Electroingenieur puzzled it out but I really appreciate you checking your manual. It was very kind of you!
     
    davecook89t likes this.
  6. Kristen678

    Kristen678 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    14
    5
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Wow - that is some serious detective work! I'm seriously impressed and very grateful to have the answer. Thank you!
     
    edthefox5 and Elektroingenieur like this.
  7. edthefox5

    edthefox5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    8,968
    4,126
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Yes that's correct my 07 manual shows where AM2 feeds 2 inputs of the Power Src IC.

    Pin12 is marked AM2 and Pin 33 is marked AM1. Both fed by good old AM2 fuse. So disregard empty AM1 fuse socket.

    Good eye Kristen you will need that down the road on this car lol........and both you AND Electro gets a
    I Like YOU!
     
    Kristen678 and jerrymildred like this.
Loading...