1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

I’m thinking of leaving my wife….

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by JSH, Jul 1, 2008.

1. JSH

JSH Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Not for good, just every week.

Here’s the situation: We moved to the Birmingham, Al area about a year ago when she took a job here. We are both engineers, she is a biomedical engineer and I’m a mechanical engineer. I looked for a job for about 6 months before taking a contract job 85 miles away. I worked that job for 4 months before finding my current job 65 miles away. With a 3 hour commute that puts my typical work day at 14 hours door to door.

What I have found in 10 months of job hunting is that Birmingham doesn’t have much industry left. Most of the jobs engineering jobs in the Birmingham area are in power generation, pipelines, and mining while my background is in manufacturing and project management. Alabama has a lot of manufacturing but it is not in the major cities but instead scattered along the major highways where rural communities traded free land and no taxes for manufacturing plants. All the jobs I’ve seen have been 50 to 90 miles away.

So back to the present: I like my current job but I don’t like spending 15 hours and $150 a week to commute to work. I’m thinking of renting a place close to work and going home on the weekends. My schedule only overlaps with my wife’s for about 2 hours a day during the week so I would loose about 8 hours of “family†time but gain 10 hours of “personal†time that I now spend commuting. I would have about 4 hours a day of free time Mon-Thur. Another positive is that I would be at the most 3 miles from work so I could ride my bicycle to work and the YMCA.

I know lots of people do this but don’t know any personally. To those that have, how has it worked for you?

2. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A