1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

I AM SO ANGRY re: oil change!!!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Julia2001, Aug 5, 2012.

1. Julia2001

Julia2001 Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I studied the wonderful PriusChat posts and videos over and over again so that I could change my own oil. I reviewed them so much I could change the oil in my sleep.

I went to Autozone and bought everything I would need for my first-ever Prius oil change, including Mobil 1 synthetic oil and an extra expensive Mobil 1 filter. And yes a package of new washers! Got all the tools ready.

AND I CAN NOT LOOSEN THE OIL PAN BOLT!

I am so angry about this. I realize that because weigh about 110-112 pounds soaking wet I don't have the strength most of you have, but those bolts are not supposed to be tightened like that according to what I've read on this site. I think I tore a neck muscle trying to turn my wrench.

And YES I am using a 14mm. And YES I am turning counter-clockwise. I even squirted some Liquid Wrench on that thing to try to loosen it. It won't budge.

I know there's nothing any of you can do about this, but I guess I am just venting here unless anyone has a suggestion?

Thanks for the vent!

Julia

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    breaker bar.

3. 13Plug

13Plug Active Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Use your foot to push on the wrench, make sure it's on good and doesn't slip off.

4. 4rnr

4rnr Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    You can either invest in a breaker bar... or tap on your wrench with a dead-blow hammer (technically you're not supposed to do that, but it does works:oops: )

5. Britprius

Britprius Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius