I bought a 2008 Prius at an auction yesterday

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Priuslover09, Mar 10, 2020.

  1. Priuslover09

    Priuslover09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2020
    363
    46
    0
    Location:
    Dc
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    I bought a 2008 Prius yesterday at an auction and it had the C1310 P0ACB codes the guy fixed the car and put a prolong charger on the car and rebuilt the battery and did a lot other things to it do you think he broke a sensor if so how can I fix this problem?
     
  2. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    90,036
    40,391
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    :cool:Good luck!:cool:
     
    edthefox5 and Priuslover09 like this.
  3. ericbecky

    ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    4,337
    3,112
    1
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Certainly is a possibility.

    Buy a set of sensors. Used on eBay perhaps. Or check with the dealership.

    Also what diagnostic equipment are you using?

    You definitely want/need equipment so you can see data, as well as read and clear codes, or make new keys.
     
    Priuslover09 likes this.
  4. Priuslover09

    Priuslover09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2020
    363
    46
    0
    Location:
    Dc
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    I got it from tech stream
     
  5. Priuslover09

    Priuslover09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2020
    363
    46
    0
    Location:
    Dc
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    I hope the car works good the car is for my daughter who lives in Colton points md she turns 23 on Friday and she got her driving license last week. I’m getting her a Prius that I bought from an auction
     
    VFerdman likes this.
  6. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    90,036
    40,391
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    2008 was a great year(y)
     
    MickyMatter and Priuslover09 like this.
  7. Priuslover09

    Priuslover09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2020
    363
    46
    0
    Location:
    Dc
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    it was but here’s a question why did Toyota say there diesel in the gas tank? I didn’t get that code. So why? I went to Toyota to get gas tank check because it was making weird noise this morning I just bought the car from an auction and never got gas in there.
     
  8. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    3,488
    3,957
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    why did Toyota say there diesel in the gas tank?
    I went to Toyota to get gas tank check because it was making weird noise this morning


    I'm confused more than you are.
    Isn't this a question the Toyota dealership should be answering?
     
    scona and SFO like this.
  9. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    90,036
    40,391
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    There isn’t a diesel code in tech stream
     
    SFO likes this.
  10. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    90,036
    40,391
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    There’s a auction code though
     
    scona likes this.
  11. Priuslover09

    Priuslover09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2020
    363
    46
    0
    Location:
    Dc
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Bisco sold me the car
     
  12. Priuslover09

    Priuslover09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2020
    363
    46
    0
    Location:
    Dc
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    They empty the gas and put in half a tank of gas in this morning but still they said because of the original owner fault but idk
     
  13. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    3,488
    3,957
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    So you bought the car at auction and drove it home or had it towed? And you were able to drive it to the dealer, where they told you it had diesel in the fuel tank? Did it drive normally?

    I don't know why I torture myself sometimes............
     
    valde3, jerrymildred and bisco like this.
  14. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    90,036
    40,391
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Did they get a salvage code?
     
  15. valde3

    valde3 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    1,984
    725
    0
    Location:
    Finland
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I thought that you would know since you sold the car :ROFLMAO:

     
  16. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    90,036
    40,391
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Bisco code is a trail of crumbs...
     
    scona likes this.
  17. ericbecky

    ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    4,337
    3,112
    1
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    It's also easy to accidentally dislodge a temp sensor when moving/lifting/installing the battery pack.

    May be as simple as just clipping it back up in place.

    I've also seen where a wire gets picked between modules or other obstructions.

    Sounds like you need to go back, open things up, and assess what is going on.
     
  18. Priuslover09

    Priuslover09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2020
    363
    46
    0
    Location:
    Dc
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    I met up with him this even he’s about 33 and 34 next Tuesday he’s put the clip back in at the Toyota dealership after I emailed him this morning about the car he said he rested that code and never came back for a least a week before selling it he said the diesel he has no idea got in there unless the pump had the gas in it anyhows the car works great Except it needs a transaxle fluid change which I don’t if I can do because I don’t know where’s is it Located it in the hood itself or under the prius itself?
     
  19. valde3

    valde3 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    1,984
    725
    0
    Location:
    Finland
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Still talking about bisco?

    Instructions on how to change transaxle fluid can easily be found on this forum.
     
  20. Priuslover09

    Priuslover09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2020
    363
    46
    0
    Location:
    Dc
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    He didn’t sell me the car I wanted to make a joke about it the guy who sold me the car lives in Winchester va and the auction was somewhere in dc he nice of a guy to drive 2 hours to dc fix my problem
     
Loading...