1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

I just bricked my 2012 prius..how screwed am I?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by Flagmaster, Nov 2, 2018.

1. Flagmaster

Flagmaster Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Im an experienced 12 volt tech. But yesterday my confidence got the better of me. I made a big mistake by trying to work on car while the battery connected. God, what a dumb nice person move.

I was make an addition to my after market alarm/remote starter. I was putting in a "improved" version of my "starter kill" based on the "ground when armed' output of the alarm box.

I had already successfully done this, by cutting the first yellow wire in on the PTS button plug, and soldering extension wires too both those yellow cut points in the wire, and running them into a relay which would keep the button dissabled until the after market alarm was disarmed. This would close the yellow wires back together, returned full function to the PTS button. Worked perfectly.

While upgrading my compustar key fob, I noticed my soldering job on that relay was a bit sloppy, so I wanted to redo it. In so doing, I accidentally touched a constant +12 to the wrong pin, and I think it fed 12 volts up my starter kill lines and directly into the yellow wire of the PTS IMMO/Amplifer module, it likely also fed 12 volts down the other yellow end, right into the car (where ever it goes). no sparks, no blow fuses, all seemed well.