1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

I may be under false impressions about HV Battery indicator ?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by stevejay, Apr 10, 2016.

1. stevejay

stevejay New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    The bars are in the green most of the time.

But now after research, I am finding 6 or 7 bars of green most of the time is not ideal after all? Purple is optimum? Is there a scenario where a prius in the green too often indicates there is something off with the car or my driving style? Is the issue here that I am generating excessive HV battery heat? I think I am a smooth driver, but I do use the pedal (and brake) to make minor adjustments in speed as I'm sure we all do. Cruise control? Well that would be fine, but you can't always account for the way others drive.

I usually just drive it, and don't think looking at displays too often is a very good idea for safety. I check my mileage and battery health though, and was satisfied. More curious than concerned btw....but am I officially a newbie under a misconception?

#1 stevejay, Apr 10, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2016
  2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    how many miles on her?

the indicator is purple when it has 2 bars, blue up to 6 bars, and green at 7 and 8.
    generally speaking, it hovers at 4-6, but can go high or low depending on conditions.
    the important thing is that it doesn't rapidly fluctuate top to bottom, that indicates a dying hybrid battery.
    driving style has nothing to do with it, you can't damage the battery, and you can't drive in a way that would be good for it. it's designed to be driven.

3. stevejay

stevejay New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Around 123K

4. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base