1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

ICE on or off in traffic?

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by Chippingawayatlife, Dec 13, 2016.

1. Chippingawayatlife

Chippingawayatlife Active Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I'm extremely new to prius-ing and want to consult the experts. I find myself everyday in a situation where I am in about 0-35mph traffic for 5 miles or 20 minutes, where it would be stop and go up to 35mph. After this 20 minutes, I have a long downhill traffic stretch that tends to regen 4-5 bars on my gen 4 Two Eco. I have a few options here without upsetting traffic behind me too much:

a) accelerate slowly to keep the ICE off and stay in battery only (some users say this is inefficient because of the compounded efficiency losses through recharging with ICE),
    b) accelerate moderately turning on the ICE and barely leave it on at the borderline pedal position (this tends to allow for less space in front of my car so I stop/slow down more because of this),
    c) or accelerate a bit faster turning on and utilizing the ICE to accelerate so there is less recharging efficiency losses, then glide with the ICE off (can the consistent on/off of the ICE be harmful for it?).

What do you guys think is best for me to do?

2. alanclarkeau

alanclarkeau Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Just drive it. I let my RADAR cruise just drive according how the traffic is flowing.

Gentle-moderate acceleration where it's not holding traffic up, predicting traffic lights, keeping a good distance behind the car in front - and lots of other techniques can help with economy.