1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

If a car is “dealer maintained” how important is a pre-purchase inspection?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by macmaster05, Dec 7, 2017.

1. macmaster05

macmaster05 Senor Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Just as the title says. I’m thinking about purchasing a Prius from a private seller. I’ve never done it before but want to make sure everything checks out obviously. Title is clean and seller claims it’s been dealer maintained and assuming he has the paperwork to show it, that begs the question, is that good enough? How important is a pre-purchase inspection? Do they look for more than they do during a standard maintenance? Should I take it to the same dealership myself or a independent mechanic? Every website says “take it to a trusted mechanic” but this isn’t 1950; I don’t know know a trusted mechanic outside of whatever yelp says. Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Elektroingenieur

Elektroingenieur Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    To me, “dealer maintained” just means that the owner took the car to the dealer for maintenance, not that the dealer maintained the car to any particular standard. If the repair orders show that all of the scheduled maintenance items were completed at the times or mileages recommended in the Warranty & Maintenance Guide, it suggests a conscientious owner, but it’s no guarantee of a trouble-free car.

Keep in mind that you may not be seeing a complete history. There may be no documentation, for example, of services or repairs that were recommended but declined, repairs that were done separately from scheduled maintenance visits, or problems that were simply not reported to the dealer.