1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Inconsistent loss of power? HELP!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Rdey119, May 28, 2018.

1. Rdey119

Rdey119 New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I am pretty new to owning a hybrid vehicle and extremely new to posting on this site so I apologize if I don't do something correctly, but I will try to make this as painless as possible to read.

I own a 2008 Prius with 146,000 miles that I bought from a private owner almost a year ago. I have had no issues with it until a couple weeks ago.

2 weeks ago I was driving my car around a short distance (it had been parked in a shaded parking garage for the entire day) and once I parked the car I pressed the power button to shut it off. It didn't seem to do anything so I pressed it several more times until the car finally powered off. After it powered off, the battery appeared to die (no lights would come on, locking mechanisms wouldn't work and car would not start).

Once it was jump started, it would run normally. I took it to O'reilly to get the battery tested since I bought the 12v battery from them less than a year ago. When I got to O'reillys the car died again after powering it off. I attempted to start the car a couple more times. While trying to gain access to the 12v battery in the trunk I pressed the unlocking button on the trunk door and the car powered up by itself. After this occurred I decided to drive it to the Toyota dealership to get it checked out.

The next day I pay $118 for diagnostics at Toyota and they find a piece of cloth in the trunk latch that they believe was preventing the trunk door from shutting all the way and draining the battery (however, the open door light was never on my dashboard).