1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Installing aftermarket Stereo Receiver

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by darkgiant, Jan 15, 2016.

1. darkgiant

darkgiant Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I saw a stereo receiver on Best Buy that looks to be on sale for a really good price (Pioneer Built-In Bluetooth Apple iPod-Ready In-Dash Receiver with Detachable Faceplate and Remote Blue MVH-X380BT - Best Buy) while I am interested in picking it up, I have some questions as I am a complete noob on this side of the Prius:

1. My Prius does not have the JBL system, but it does include a 6-disc CD changer stored in the lower capartment where there is a door to open it. I ideally want to swap that 6-disc changer out with this Stereo Receiver. By doing so, would I still be able to use the CD on the upper level next to the display?

2. I know Crutchfield specifically sells parts for gaining control from the steering wheel, would ideally all buttons work?

3. I am not a big audiophile, I think the current setup on the Prius is absolutely awesome, but I am basically looking for a way to stream music from my Android phone (Spotify) to my car wirelessly (hence, Bluetooth). I essentially am looking for the cheapest solution, but best bang for the buck type of product, though, I don't want to sacrafice audio quality (I am currently used to the audio coming directly from my AUX cable in the Prius). Being a noob on this subject, does the selected Best Buy unit work well? Or are there any other suggestions that I can look at instead? I don't mind buying used of course!

4. And lastly, would someone mind sharing all the parts I would need aside from the stereo receiver to do a clean installation on my Prius? Along with some documentation?

Thanks all!

2. 69shovlhed

69shovlhed Surly tree hugger

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium