1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Interior fan running every time I open the door?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Kelly McDonald, Aug 9, 2016.

1. Kelly McDonald

Kelly McDonald New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    ----Canada----
    I'm a newbie! I just got my Prius less than a week ago. It's a 2012 Pearl White basic Prius with solar panel sunroof/navigation package. (Canadian). I make sure everything is fully off when I go to turn my car off. I hold down the brake and press the start button for at least 2 seconds and everything turns right off. However, when I go back into my car after a few hours, or the next morning, soon as I open the door I notice the interior fan is running! What the heck? This has been doing this since I got it and I have no idea why. Does it just come on automatically when I open my door (annoying) or is this running the entire time I'm not in the car? Please help! I'm sure there's a simple explanation but I can't find anything online. I talked to my dealer and he just thinks I'm not turning the car off properly, and I AM! Getting frustrated.

2. Jimi1976

Jimi1976 Active Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Hello - welcome to The forum!
    When you say "interior fan"....are you referring to the air conditioning/heat fan?

I believe what you are actually referring to is the brake booster recharging the brake system.
    Open the door....does the fan sound stop after about 2-3 seconds? If yes....it's the brake booster...and its normal

Kramah313 likes this.
  3. 2k1Toaster

2k1Toaster Brand New Prius Batteries

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Well part of the solar roof package is to run the fan when it is unoccupied to keep the internal cabin temperature closer to ambient and not boiling hot. It is a feature you paid extra for...

Kelly McDonald likes this.
  4. Kelly McDonald