1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Is buying a Prius with a rebuilt engine a good idea?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by pixelsandphotons, Aug 16, 2017.

1. pixelsandphotons

pixelsandphotons New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Long time lurker, first time poster. I've been scouring this lovely site for a few months trying to make the most informed decision on buying a used Prius. My budget is around $7k and I'm looking for a Prius between 2009 and 2012.

I found a 2010 on craigslist with ~103,000 miles for $7200 but it has a rebuilt engine. Is that a major cause for concern? I know oil consumption/head gasket problems are common with this model year so I'm wondering if I should avoid a rebuilt engine since it's already failed once before 100,000 miles or if this is actually a good thing because it's a newer engine. Seems logically sound, but there may be something I'm not thinking through here. It has not been disclosed how many miles this new engine has and I haven't asked for the VIN yet to run it's maintenance records/carfax report. Just wanted to know if further research is even warranted or if I should stay far, far away from anything with a rebuilt engine.

Anyone have any tips/concerns? Thanks for your time, I'm very excited to join the Prius family soon!

Side note: I know the risk that having such a limited budget presents, however, my partner and I are into DIY car repair (he has an 83 Volvo he is fixing up and I help him out with most of the repairs both major and minor) so I'm not opposed to learning how to do most repairs and regular maintenance myself or with his help. I'm okay with having to fix minor issues and doing preventative maintenance when the right car comes along. I plan on (lovingly and gently) driving my Prius til it disintegrates.

bisco likes this.
  2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model: