1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Is EV button/mode a novelty??

Discussion in 'Prius c Main Forum' started by GRich, May 13, 2013.

1. GRich

GRich Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    I'm new to Prius Chat. I just purchased a C 3 about a month ago. I was wondering about the EV mode, does it have any real utility. Mine will only work if I have five or more bars and the car has to be warm. If I have not driven the car with in about an hour or so it says unavailable same thing if I'm below five bars. But often time even with out pressing ev it still stays in all electric, even if the battery is as low as 3 bars. As long as I stay below the ev line. But if I use ev and drive over 10mph the ice starts. This is far less then if I had never pressed it. Also if the ice is already running it never does a thing. So my question is, what utility does it have or when should I use it.

thanks.

JMD likes this.
  2. ChinchillaGirl

ChinchillaGirl OrcaCar

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    I only use it as a feel good factor- at the end of my homeward commute, I can slowly roll down hill and get a tiny boost in mpg if I remember to do so- also, if you drive thru a lot of parking lots to find a good parking spot, its useful.

CordynChaim likes this.
  3. JMD

JMD 2012 Prius 4 Solar Roof

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Great question. I just let the car computer decide.

PriusC-illa likes this.
  4. Maria Ku

Maria Ku Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    I definitely CAN turn EV mode on after about 10 minutes of driving in the morning - I do it every day when I drop my daughter at school, first thing in the morning. The limitation is that you must go slowly enough, and not up the hill. I get up to 28 mph on EV, if I go without accelerating fast.

5. john1701a

john1701a Prius Guru

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model: