1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Is it better to buy a used or new Prius Prime now?

Discussion in 'Prime Main Forum (2017-2022)' started by Laura Padioleu, Dec 27, 2020.

1. Laura Padioleu

Laura Padioleu New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi all,

Big car purchasing newbie here from Vermont looking to buy her first car, ideally a Prius Prime.

I found a used 2017 premium trim with 19k miles on it for $16,600 at a local Toyota dealership (great condition, no accidents). I'm also reading other posts about some crazy discounts for new cars after rebates, incentives and tax returns. Do you think It's better to get used or new (2020 car for example) right now? I don't mind paying a little more if I can get a brand new prime. Any advice will be much much helpful! Thank you!

Laura

2. Storm88000

Storm88000 Active Member

Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    LE
    Offer $15k and it’s a good deal.

Laura Padioleu likes this.
  3. Salamander_King

Salamander_King Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    It depends on several factors. I don't think 3 years old 19K miles PP Premium for $16600 is a bad deal. However, if you can use a full $4500 tax credit on a new PP, in your local which is in Toyota New England Region, buying a new is a better deal, IMHO. I don't know if VT has a state incentive but with negotiation, you can have a 2021 PP LE not too much more than the used 2017PP Premium you are considering. If some dealers still have a 2020 model on the lot, you may get an even better deal.