1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Is this a good price?

Discussion in 'Dealers & Pricing' started by Droopdog7, Nov 12, 2014.

1. Droopdog7

Droopdog7 New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Hopefully I am not violating any rules but I have been negotiating with dealers online and over the phone for a 2015 plug in. The best I got was 31,786 out the door. The quote for the car price was 28,995.

Is this a good price or could I do better by walking in and starting from scratch with a different dealer?

Btw, it is for a base model with no add ons. Thanks.

2. roflwaffle

roflwaffle Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    I'd wait. If anything, solicit some offers via true-car over the next few months, and turn them all down. That way the dealer will become familiar with you and hopefully will offer you a decent price.

On top of that, with gas prices low, and carpool stickers in CA set to run out early next year, I imagine you could see something like ~$24500 plus TTL again like we saw in May of this year.

Richard Jones likes this.
  3. Droopdog7

Droopdog7 New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Thanks. I've read about huge rebates earlier this year and feel kinda upset that missed it. I've been having so much trouble, and putting so much money, in my current car that I am somewhat rushed to get into something new. But if I thought the rebates would come back again, I would gladly wait. I assumed the the deals ending in May were for outgoing 2014's. I surmised that those might not be seen again until next year for the 15's. But how will one ever know? For those tracking, did I miss a rare deal this may?

Thanks.

4. Richard Jones

Richard Jones New Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Best advice ever, I've do this a lot, works every time ;)

5. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle: