It finally happened. Red Triangle of Death.

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by bryanv, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. bryanv

    bryanv New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    22
    3
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I've got more money than I'd care to admit to wrapped up in this 2002 prius that I've only owned since Sept. 2014. I love this decrepit little go-kart.

    My handy-dandy el-cheapo ODBII reader is telling me no codes.

    I cannot for the life of me find instructions on what pins to short on the data connector to get the car to beep the error codes to me.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. C Clay

    C Clay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    193
    15
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Get the Techstream software from Amazon. I've been in your shoes, read my posts. Good luck!


    iPhone ?
     
  3. Beachbummm

    Beachbummm Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    1,160
    387
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    shorting pins in any car is insane when you can buy a code checker for $30 or have it done for free at an auto parts store...make a mistake and blow the computer costing thousands...seems stupid to me...if you cant afford the tools to fix the car you cant afford the car...
     
    Priusguy78213 likes this.
  4. C Clay

    C Clay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    193
    15
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Take it easy on him Beachbumm, the guy is down and hurting. Don't pour salt on his wounds. :). Buy Techstream dude- come back and post the codes and there will be a good group of folks to offer assistance.


    iPhone ?
     
  5. bryanv

    bryanv New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    22
    3
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    You guys are right. Beachbummm - thanks for the harsh pep-talk. You're absolutely right.

    C Clay - Thanks for the spoonfull of sugar on this. I've done a bit of repair on this car in the cab, and I'm no stranger to under the hood of other cars, so with help / guidance, I think I can pull this off.

    Techstream & Cable should be here weds... time to dig out the old windows laptop.
     
  6. Beachbummm

    Beachbummm Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    1,160
    387
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    techstream that I bought from e bay was loaded with viruses(counterfeit software) and screwed up my good laptop, I posted about it and everyone seemed to already know but no one mentioned it..so if he does buy one I hope he has a junker laptop with XP on it or he might have more problems and expenses
     
  7. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    10,706
    7,869
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    In case it streamlines your decision any, the image you posted shows the red icon is the rightmost one, and that means the codes you're looking for will most likely be in the Hybrid Vehicle ECU. That one doesn't have any pin-shorting way to read codes - a Prius-capable scan tool is the one and only way to get codes from that ECU. (Also the only way to get codes from the Battery ECU, for future reference, though I see in your image the battery icon is not red in your case.)

    -Chap
     
  8. Beachbummm

    Beachbummm Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    1,160
    387
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    just know most of the techstream software is counterfeit and mine was loaded with viruses so put it on an old computer running XP after you take all your personal info off it and don't run it on line, my anti virus found 17 viruses and could not remove 4..so I formatted the hard drive and started over..good luck
     
  9. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    10,706
    7,869
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    You're right, it is always worth mentioning again. Toyota offers Techstream on a timed-license basis, $55 runs it for two days. When you can buy a $30 cable that comes with a version of Techstream that works without paying, you know that the people you're getting this software from have standards of honesty that aren't absolute. Choose accordingly the laptop you're willing to install it on (and what other things you will and won't do with that laptop).

    -Chap
     
    bwilson4web likes this.
  10. Beachbummm

    Beachbummm Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    1,160
    387
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    I didn't know that...I wonder if that will get me the pass code for re-seeding key fobs for the SKS system..(it was the main reason I bought the cable and software...didn't know about the pass code until afterward)
     
  11. Avi's Advanced Automotive

    Avi's Advanced Automotive Independent hybrid repair shop

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    758
    345
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    You have to be a locksmith to get the Techstream version that provides seed codes. If you look, you'll see there are two versions of the $55 subscription.

    Avi
     
  12. Avi's Advanced Automotive

    Avi's Advanced Automotive Independent hybrid repair shop

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    758
    345
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Techstream is the way to go. The ABS ECU will probably only tell you that there is a problem with the hybrid system. Many cheap OBD-II readers will read the hybrid system codes. If yours doesn't, you might see if your local auto parts store has one that can.

    Avi
     
  13. Beachbummm

    Beachbummm Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    1,160
    387
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    ok I guess Ill have to try to replace the microswitches, if I can find the correct ones
     
  14. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    5,038
    2,717
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes, it is common knowledge, but no one is sure if it is real or a false positive as only 7 out of the top 24 virus checkers report the one particular file as a problem. However, it is better to err on the side of caution so the advice is to use a junker laptop with no internet connection capability and only use for car diagnostics.

    The notion that Techstream is "riddled" with viruses is just hysterical nonsense.

    To be clear, the Techstream software (to date) is clear of viruses. The one file that does report a malware infection is the utility program for the cable driver (FirmwareUpdateTool.exe). That file is not necessary for the operation of Techstream. It is only used to check that you can "talk" to the cable in the initial stages of setup and you do not need to do this step in the set up if you are happy to carry on and just assume the cable works.

    Having said all of that, my experience with the MVCI set up is that I had no virus detection with my set up for well over a 2 years, and used AVG and then Avast. The all of a sudden about a month ago, I ran the cable verify program and bang, it was intercepted by Avast and put into quarantine. I have had no symptoms of virus infection to date (which does not mean to say I have no malware running), but, as I run my Win XP in a virtual machine, I can immediately trash the VM and reinstate from a pre-infection back up quite easily, so while cautious, I'm not overly worried. Other people need to proceed in a manner which is commensurate with their own personal risk profile and experience.

    I just advise to keep the hysteria in perspective, but proceed with all due caution.
     
    #14 dolj, Jun 21, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2015
  15. Beachbummm

    Beachbummm Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    1,160
    387
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    that's odd my AVG 2015 is what found all the issues running windows 7, it was funny when I contacted the seller his advise was to disable the anti virus and keep using the program.. the other thing to remember is not everyone is a computer geek that knows how to " run my Win XP in a virtual machine" its safer not to use infected software .
     
  16. SageBrush

    SageBrush Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    11,627
    2,519
    8
    Location:
    Southwest Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    I'm ok with paying for timed access to clean, updated software but $1400 for the OEM cable is more than I care to pay. Do you happen to know which Windows OS versions will run the combo of cloned cable and licensed TIS ?

    And whether I can install the required drivers without including the malware ?
     
  17. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    5,038
    2,717
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Just to reiterate, there is no malware/virus in the cable driver (or Techstream). There was malware detected in one file only, the Firmware Updater Tool program (FirmwareUpdateTool.exe) and you can just delete that program without running it after you install the drivers.

    I believe there is a Mangoose cable that works with Techstream and runs somewhere near $350. Maybe check their site for the OS/software requirements.

    I think you are mistaken about the $1400 though, I believe for that you get a cable, the software and the hardware and includes professional access for a year for that price.

    I believe Chap has used Techstream with 2 day access, unless I have misunderstood some of his previous posts, so will defer to him, or others, for the ins and outs of interacting with tech info.
     
    #17 dolj, Jun 22, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2015
  18. SageBrush

    SageBrush Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    11,627
    2,519
    8
    Location:
    Southwest Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Thanks doll,
    I stand corrected on price. The $1400 is for the MongoosePro cable and a year subscription to TIS.
    The cable alone is about $500.

    I did find cables for around $300 but they were all designated for VW/Audi use.
     
  19. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    5,038
    2,717
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Just to clarify, I was using AVG 2014 and then changed to Avast 2015. I can't honestly remember which one I was running at the time I installed MVCI/TS, but there was talk of viruses then and I did a full system scan after install and since and neither reported any viruses or malware on my Windows machine at that time or since. It only cropped up a month ago, but even though it intercepted and prevented me from running that program a month ago, it could have been some time before that when things changed with virus definitions. I have just done a full system scan and it still finds "NO THREATS" (colour and emphasis Avast's)

    I agree that it is safer to not use infected software, it is just that I'm not 100% convince there is a real threat. After a full virus scan, Avast does not turn up any viruses, even though the above mentioned file is still on my system. The only real risk is running that program, so if you are risk adverse, just don't run that program. It is just that simple.

    As I said before each person has to manage their own systems and the associated risk to a level with which they are comfortable.
     
    #19 dolj, Jun 22, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2015
  20. bryanv

    bryanv New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    22
    3
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes, it's a junker laptop from 2006, I'll run it in a VM, and we'll toss it aside when I'm done. If I can, I won't even give the VM a network controller. :) From an IT side, I've got this covered. It's the 'automotive electronics' that I'm not accustomed to... Most of these darn cars seem to be a haphazzard mix of analogue and digital components... highly frustrating for purists like me. :)
     
Loading...