1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Jump started 2007 Prius, but not sure which battery was bad...

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by LauraM, Jan 13, 2013.

1. LauraM

LauraM New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A

I'm a PriusChat newbie with a question I can't seem to find a direct answer to from what I've read so far on the forums. I bought my 2007 Prius used in 2010, and have had almost no problems with it since. I don't drive it much (live in the city and mostly take public transport to work), so the mileage is low still (around 44,000 miles). I currently keep it in a garage, and was recently out of town for a couple of weeks. When I returned, I used it once to run a quick errand (less than a mile roundtrip) - no problems. The next time I tried to start it, several of the dashboard indicators came on and it wouldn't start. Turned it off, and on again, and this time nothing happened - no lights, nothing. Couldn't lock it either. I read a bunch on this forum that seemed to indicate it might be the 12v battery, so we thought of having my husband check and replace the 12V, but after some thinking, decided to try AAA first to see what jump starting would do.