1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Just rear ended a car, what do these emergency lights mean on my car?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by yungprius, Oct 24, 2019.

1. yungprius

yungprius New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    This is my first time rear ending my car and I hit a truck and there are barely any damages to his car, but as you can see, my hood is severely dented and some oil or some liquid spilled onto the street. My car turns on and runs fine but after about 15 seconds, the emergency lights in the picture below pop up and it says “main battery” on the touch screen. The damages to the other car are minimal, just some scratches on the bumper, but I’m just wondering if judging by the pictures, anyone could tell me if it’s best to go thru my insurance for this situation or I could get away with just paying for it out of pocket?

Attached Files:

2. Leadfoot J. McCoalroller

Leadfoot J. McCoalroller Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    It’s likely that your air conditioner condenser and radiator are trashed. Possibly the inverter cooling pump, probably some of the plumbing connecting it, and the left headlight. Maybe more. If you were to DIY it might not be so bad, but if you had to pay for somebody else to fix it this would not be cheap.

Given that it’s a 2005 insurance may well total it.

edthefox5, Data Daedalus and M in KC like this.
  3. yungprius

yungprius New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    i have a reliable car guy an hour away back home and i have roadside assistance, i’ll get my car towed to him and i’m gonna see if he can assess the damages before i give my insurance a call. hoping for the best

Data Daedalus likes this.
  4. ChapmanF

ChapmanF Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV