1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

1. JimmyPri

JimmyPri Active Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    How far away from the car does the key fob have to be to prevent it from constantly communicating with the car and therefore wearing down the fob battery? I thought 75 feet away would be far enough. But today I was successful at locking and opening the doors from that distance using the fob buttons. Is it that the open/lock buttons when pressed send out a stronger signal than the low frequency communication with the car? My ground floor apartment is that distance away from my parking space. Should I set the battery saving function of the key fob every night? This is on a 2016 Prius three and I have only had it less than two weeks, so I am still learning. The manual helps sometimes but isn't very clear about some things. Thanks.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    correct about the buttons. 15 feet is sufficient for the car and fob not to 'talk' to each other.

JimmyPri likes this.
  3. JohnF

JohnF Active Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Interesting point. Why not find out how much replacement batteries cost? And you have two key fobs. Why not set the one you're not using to sleep so that it stays fresh? And then just use the other one as normal, without having to remember to set the battery saving function on it every night?

4. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    the new fobs have a sleep function?

5. JohnF

JohnF Active Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I was using "sleep" as shorthand for "battery saving", sorry.

Another option is to simply remove the battery from the second key fob. Then it's really "asleep".

JimmyPri and bisco like this.
  6. JimmyPri

JimmyPri Active Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model: