1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Leaving headlights on all the time...

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by SD-Realtor, Jun 8, 2017.

1. SD-Realtor

SD-Realtor Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I am new to owning a Prius, and I have a question... I'm not sure if this is common sense or not... it's a 2014 Prius II.

I have DDM Tuning HIDs and led running lights (the small ones above the headlights). I have found that if I leave on my parking lights or headlights and I park and leave my car without turning them off at the stalk, they automatically shut off after 15 seconds. Is there a downside to counting on that and just leaving them in the on position always, if I want to drive with them on all the time?

Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.

2. fuzzy1

fuzzy1 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    The OEM lights have auto-off, and it is customizable for 0 to 90 seconds. As best I know, it is reliable. If the aftermarket lights were wired into the OEM system correctly, they ought to be just fine.

3. SD-Realtor

SD-Realtor Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I just found that setting... 30 second auto-off headlamp timer... Yes, I wired the HIDs into the factory harness. Anyone see any reason not to just leave them on all the time? Seems equivalent to an "Auto" headlight function.

Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.

4. Sam Spade

Sam Spade Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    Two possible down sides:
    Having the actual headlights ON all the time will also have the tail lights ON all the time. Makes seeing the brake lights come on just a tiny bit more iffy.
    The headlight bulbs have a limited life span. Having them ON all the time might make them burn out a lot sooner than you want.
    OK, three: