Level 2 Charger Installed

Discussion in 'Prime Plug-in Charging' started by kbr0125, Aug 25, 2020.

  1. kbr0125

    kbr0125 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    32
    13
    0
    Location:
    Western New York
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Just received my Level two charger in the mail from amazon, i wanted a wall mount one because i think they look very nice. Does cost a little bit more money. In total it took me about 3-4 hours. About 1 hour to cut the old drywall/insulation out, another hour to run the cable and connect it to the new amp breaker. About hr and a half putting in new insulation and drywall then plastering the seams. Then less than 30 min to mount the charger to the wall.

    Still need to sand down the plaster and then paint the wall. (Had to cake some spots because cutting is hard, lol. But that can come at a later date.

    50 Amp breaker
    15ft 6/3 Wire
    Nema 14-50 Outlet
    32Amp Level 2 Charger.


    50 Amp Breaker and 6/3 will allow me to constantly draw 40 Amp for the future, since code only allows you to draw constant 80% of a breaker.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    94,191
    42,700
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    wow, great job. that would take me 3-4 weeks, well done! sharp looking unit (y)

    what model is it?
     
  3. kbr0125

    kbr0125 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    32
    13
    0
    Location:
    Western New York
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A


    Has a 5% discount during checkout, then i had $80 of amazon credit.
     
    bisco likes this.
  4. Andyprius1

    Andyprius1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    2,327
    860
    1
    Location:
    Cool CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
  5. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    8,576
    6,887
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    Very nice! I wish I have the ability to DIY my wiring to install L2 EVSE.

    Our garage is detached from our house where the main panel is located. Currently, there is 30" conduit running under the asphalt paved driveway to connect the circuit in the garage on 20A breaker. If I can replace the wire in the conduit without tearing the pavement, it may save substantial cost. What is the outer diameter of the 6/3 wire you used?
     
  6. john1701a

    john1701a Prius Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    12,188
    4,866
    57
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    You should have no trouble pulling heavier gauge wire. That's a nice benefit of conduit. In our case, we have the 3/4" size. That has a 4-wire capacity with each being 6-gauge.
     
    Salamander_King likes this.
  7. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    8,576
    6,887
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    Thanks. That makes my L2 EVSE installation project much more economical. I am sure I can just use the existing wire which I believe 12-gauge as a fish line.
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  8. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    9,943
    12,210
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    If it's a very long, pull, I like to use wire pulling lube (aka cow snot) to keep the friction heat down.
     
    Salamander_King likes this.
  9. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    8,576
    6,887
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    OK. It's ~30 feet long under the paved blacktop driveway between my house and the garage. Luckily, it is a straight line without any bend except the 90-degree angles at the bottom of the walls. I can pull either from the garage side or the house side. Previously, I thought the only way I can change the wire would be to dig a trench to remove the existing wire and laying a new, but that would be way too much work. I don't know what type of conduit is under the ground, but I think it is a PVC type since that is what is visible above the ground.

    screenshot-www.google.com-2020.09.06-12_18_57.png
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  10. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    9,943
    12,210
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    That looks just about ideal. And 30' isn't very far. I'd still use lube if it was me, just in case. And, if there's room to add wires later, I like to include a pull string in the wire bundle so you won't have to sacrifice one of the existing wires to add the new ones. But, if that's 3/4" conduit and you're putting in #6 wire, I imagine the conduit will be pretty full since the max number of #8 in 3/4 PVC is 4. The charts allow 3 #6 THHN in 3/4" non-metalic conduit.
     
    Salamander_King likes this.
  11. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    8,576
    6,887
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    That's a great tip from a pro. I just took this pic on the outside of the garage foundation where the conduit enters the building. The O.D. of the PVC is 1 1/4". I guess it is larger than 3/4" PVC?

    upload_2020-9-6_13-42-34.png
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  12. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    9,943
    12,210
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    It says 1" on the LB cover, so that's also the nominal size of the conduit. (It's probably marked somewhere, but may not be printed on the exposed areas.) According to the chart I checked, schedule 40 1" rigid PVC has an ID of 1.004". This should be a pretty easy job.
     
    Salamander_King likes this.
Loading...