1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Lit up dash, doesn't turn over. Won't move.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by BUCKed, Jan 4, 2022.

1. BUCKed

BUCKed Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Newbie here! A couple days ago I started my car, an 07 to warm up, no lights were on at that time. I drove a little ways up my driveway to close the gate, put it in park and immediately the dash lights up with just about everything! It would not go in drive or neutral only went in reverse but wouldn't even reverse properly. My 12v battery is good, its at 11.9. I put it on a 4amp maintainer as well just to make sure. When you go to start it it won't turn over, just lights up the dash then dings with the screen going to PROBLEM.

2. tommymommy

tommymommy Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    My guess is going to be high voltage ground fault on the hybrid battery itself. On the Gen 2 this will lock the entire car up so that it cannot be moved. You can clear The code by disconnecting the 12 volt battery and then reconnecting it after a minute or so. This will give you time to move the car back down to park it. You will need a code reader and the Toyota program to pull the codes on it. If your dealership is close by, you could baby it into the dealership but it is risky as that battery could potentially catch fire. If at any time you shut the car off it will not move again without clearing the code.

bisco likes this.
  3. BUCKed

BUCKed Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    That actually makes alot of sense. I will get right on that! Thank you!

4. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    11.9 ain't good

5. BUCKed

BUCKed Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring