1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Live in a trailer and using Prius as power soure?

Discussion in 'Prime Technical Discussion' started by nanami, Mar 3, 2020.

1. nanami

nanami New Member

Vehicle:
    2020 Prius
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Hi

I am a Uber driver currently with another car in SF and I am trying to save money on my rent($1200-$1400 for a bedroom!) and turn that into a car mortage of prius prime.

the ieda was first come with vandwelling, but later I realize its very limited on power and I can't uber with a van

per my power monitor, I relized I normally need 200~400w of power when I am in home, it exceed what solar panel on a van can deliver

so, it comes up with a plan to rent a parking space for trailer, when I am away for Uber, I park my trailer on the parking lot, when I am living in my home, I will hook trailer to my prius prime, and use a inverter that connects from battery to power my home(trailer)

it will be a mid term solution of my living, at least 6 month or so.

but the question is, after I have done so many search,I still have no ieda how do I wire a inverter to battery safety and not to void hybird system warranty, the vedio is unclear and ConVerdant dont sell kits anymore, if I made anymistake ,its can kill me or cause a $2600 battery replacement fee.

what's the pro & cons that you wire to 12v battery instead of Hybird battery? ( do some changes to 12v battery seem to be much safer!)

do you think prius can be a reliable power source for my living?

is it possibile to get this done without void warranty on my brand new car?

do you think this lifestyle will workout?

any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Meg&Bear likes this.
  2. Jon Bloom

Jon Bloom Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium