Long story : P0AC0, P3000, P3004

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Pyho, Nov 3, 2020.

  1. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    5,233
    2,822
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Did you use a torque wrench to tighten all the bus bar nuts? If not, you need to do that and ensure they are torqued to 5 N m (48 in-lbs). Too loose or too tight can both cause problems.
     
  2. Pyho

    Pyho Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    30
    14
    0
    Location:
    Bordeaux, France
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    No I don't because I can't find anybody around me with this kind of tools, specifically 5Nm is so rare !
    So I thighten with my Facom tools (Coffret douilles 1/2 6 pans 19 pièces avec cliquet S.161-2P6PB Facom - OUTILS.FR) reasonably.
    Luckily I have been doing rc model making for years and it helps me learn tightening skills even though it doesn't replace torque wrench accuracy. I agree.

    Also I've found this doc that explain P0A90 : https://share.qclt.com/%E4%B8%B0%E7%94%B0%E6%99%AE%E7%91%9E%E6%96%AF%E5%8E%9F%E5%8E%82%E8%8B%B1%E6%96%87%E6%89%8B%E5%86%8Cpdf%E6%A0%BC%E5%BC%8F/repair%20manual/04pruisr/05/21bpm/0a90239.pdf
    And guess what ? Nothing mention problem with inverter while my Toyota dealer said it was the inverter without a doubt... an changed it at high cost.

    It's a half good new because that means the transaxle is certainly the problem here. And it could be the reason why everytime I reboot the error codes my car runs fine some miles before showing it up again.

    What do you think about it ?
     
  3. Pyho

    Pyho Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    30
    14
    0
    Location:
    Bordeaux, France
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Ok during the night I charged the 12v battery with a battery charger.
    It's now 12.8v sounds good.

    I put my original battery ECU to test it with the new WireFrame2. Same problem as the other ECU. Always error P0A90 and P0AC0.
    @PriusCamper I opened the ECU and no corrosion at all, no burn.
    Very clean.

    I see 2 possible explanations :
    - the bad one : Transaxle is failing
    - the better one : Battery current sensor is failing (part. 131400-0051) match with errors P0AC0 and P0AC1. I'll try to buy a used one and test.
     

    Attached Files:

    #23 Pyho, Nov 22, 2020
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2020
  4. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    5,503
    2,207
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    When I first started a couple-few years back I used a torque wrench and found that the lowest clutch setting on the my screwdriver gun was just a tiny bit under the amount of torque required. So after I do all the nuts with that, I then double check every nut with a tiny bit more of hand tightening with stubby socket wrench.
     
    Pyho likes this.
  5. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    5,503
    2,207
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Your ECU looks good... Is current sensor you're referring to the little white plastic donut shaped thing?
     
    Pyho likes this.
  6. Pyho

    Pyho Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    30
    14
    0
    Location:
    Bordeaux, France
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
  7. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    5,503
    2,207
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Pyho likes this.
  8. Pyho

    Pyho Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    30
    14
    0
    Location:
    Bordeaux, France
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hello everyone,

    I'm back with some news about my P2. Unfortunately it's still not running correctly and P0AC0 and P3000 errors are still showing. So I drive my Prius the less I can...
    The heat engine never stops and the screen shows me a battery with bars that go up and down for no reason. Sometimes I have no power left when I step on the accelerator.

    I found some water in my 12v battery area so I dried it and I put body sealant on the places known to be responsible for these leaks :


    I also replaced the 12v battery with a new one.
    Dr Prius and Torque Pro show good results of the hybrid battery.

    But always and always this errors showing even if I reset them.

    After replacing at high cost the inverter, my Toyota dealer "thinks" it may be the hybrid ECU. Not sure.
    I can't afford to hand over 1000 € without knowing if it will work. I lost confidence in them. They have already stolen € 3,500 by changing the inverter. And that didn't solve anything...

    So ... how to get out of it to really diagnose this failure please?
     
  9. Pyho

    Pyho Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    30
    14
    0
    Location:
    Bordeaux, France
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    #29 Pyho, Jan 23, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2021
  10. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    5,503
    2,207
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
  11. Pyho

    Pyho Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    30
    14
    0
    Location:
    Bordeaux, France
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    No.
    I tried with a working used ECU : nothing better.
    I changed the WireFrame n°2 (orange with sensors) for a brand new one : nothing better.

    G4283-47030 Toyota Sensor Battery Current is like my last hope !
     
    #31 Pyho, Jan 23, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2021
  12. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    3,740
    3,646
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Here on page 66 of 165 (or HB 66) is the workup for DTC P0AC0 (P0AC1 P0AC2 P0ABF): https://attachments.priuschat.com/attachment-files/2020/03/183963_Hybrid_Battery.pdf

    You may want to consider a 'mini-vci' cable and a copy of techstream, this is the same software the dealer technicians use to test/diagnose/repair vehicles with.

    Some DTCs have associated INFs (AKA secondary codes, subcodes, detail codes), knowing the subcode for a particular DTC may help diagnose the issue, potentially saving time and money. DTC P3000 has five (5) related INFs (subcodes).

    Here is the workup for DTC P3000 with INFs 123, 125, 603 : https://share.qclt.com/%E4%B8%B0%E7%94%B0%E6%99%AE%E7%91%9E%E6%96%AF%E5%8E%9F%E5%8E%82%E8%8B%B1%E6%96%87%E6%89%8B%E5%86%8Cpdf%E6%A0%BC%E5%BC%8F/Prius%20Service%20Manuals%202004/%E4%BF%AE%E7%90%86%E6%89%8B%E5%86%8C/04pruisr/05/21bpm/3000123.pdf

    Here is the workup for DTC P3000 with INF 388 : https://share.qclt.com/%E4%B8%B0%E7%94%B0%E6%99%AE%E7%91%9E%E6%96%AF%E5%8E%9F%E5%8E%82%E8%8B%B1%E6%96%87%E6%89%8B%E5%86%8Cpdf%E6%A0%BC%E5%BC%8F/Prius%20Service%20Manuals%202004/%E4%BF%AE%E7%90%86%E6%89%8B%E5%86%8C/04pruisr/05/21bpm/3000388.pdf

    Here is the workup for DTC P3000 with INF 389 : https://share.qclt.com/%E4%B8%B0%E7%94%B0%E6%99%AE%E7%91%9E%E6%96%AF%E5%8E%9F%E5%8E%82%E8%8B%B1%E6%96%87%E6%89%8B%E5%86%8Cpdf%E6%A0%BC%E5%BC%8F/Prius%20Service%20Manuals%202004/%E4%BF%AE%E7%90%86%E6%89%8B%E5%86%8C/04pruisr/05/21bpm/3000389.pdf

    [​IMG]
     
    PriusCamper and Raytheeagle like this.
  13. Pyho

    Pyho Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    30
    14
    0
    Location:
    Bordeaux, France
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Thank you @SFO for this amazing documentation !

    The documentation indicates that P0AC0 error code can have 3 trouble areas:


    • HV battery assembly (wire harness or connector) Already checked it and replaced Wireframe n°2 to be sure. All connectors are good !
    • Battery current sensor Didn't replace it for now ! N°1 suspect.
    • Battery ECU Already checked it with another working ECU, error code still showing !


    This comforts me in the choice to replace the Battery current sensor.
     
  14. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    3,740
    3,646
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Have you performed the #2 workup "CHECK WIRE HARNESS (BATTERY ECU - BATTERY CURRENT SENSOR)" on page 69 to confirm replacement?

    The "mini-vci" cable costs under 20 usd, but may cost more elsewhere.
     
  15. Pyho

    Pyho Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    30
    14
    0
    Location:
    Bordeaux, France
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II

    As I said previously, I bought a brand new OEM Wireframe 2 like this one :
    Toyota Prius 2nd Gen Wire Frame N 2 for sale online | eBay
     
  16. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    3,740
    3,646
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Let me rephrase. In the above workup for P0AC0 you may see step #2 (on page HB 69), which gives instructions that include the voltage and resistance values for testing the HV battery current sensor.

    There is an additional way to inspect the sensor by probing the terminals for resistance. Follow the step-by-step instructions on page 142 (HB 142), this would also require the use of a multimeter.

    There may be no need to replace this battery current sensor if it tests good.
     
    PriusCamper likes this.
  17. Pyho

    Pyho Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    30
    14
    0
    Location:
    Bordeaux, France
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Thanks a lot!
    I'll check it when the sun will be back here :D
     
  18. Pyho

    Pyho Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    30
    14
    0
    Location:
    Bordeaux, France
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Bad new this morning.
    I took the car to drive 2 miles.

    Big loss of power and new error shown P0A92. Google searches tell that it's an inverter or transaxle default.

    Is it consequence of driving with P0AC0 ?
    My inverter has been changed with a brand new one on september 2020 by Toyota. Died again !?

    Wanna throw this car away now... :(
     
    #38 Pyho, Jan 24, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2021
  19. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    3,740
    3,646
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Friends don't let friends use google, try a different search engine.
    Buy an OBD2 code scanner ($20) that retrieves the freeze frame data and the 'sub codes' (INFs) for the various DTCs that may have them, as DTC P0A92 has four (4) associated INFs. You could do each workup step by step, but that can be tedious or wasteful.

    Here is the workup for P0A92 with INF 261.pdf

    Here is the workup for P0A92 with INF 521.pdf

    Here is the workup for P0A92 with INFs 606 and INF 607.pdf

    Given that you had a P0AC0, we might assume that the INF is 606/607. Try following the workup posted above step by step.
     
    Pyho likes this.
  20. Pyho

    Pyho Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    30
    14
    0
    Location:
    Bordeaux, France
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Thanks SFO

    But I can't see your links. Both Firefox and Chrome show me an error page with the following alert :

    "Connection blocked: potential security issue

    Firefox detected a problem and stopped loading share.qclt.com. Either the site is misconfigured or your computer clock is set to the wrong time.

    The site's certificate has probably expired, preventing Firefox from establishing a secure connection."


    Wich model of code scanner do you recommend ? Do I have to use Techstream?

    My Torque Pro App or Dr.Prius don't seem to give me INF codes...
     
    #40 Pyho, Jan 24, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2021
Loading...