1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Longevity

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Linda Gilman, May 20, 2019.

1. Linda Gilman

Linda Gilman New Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I have a 2009 Prius. I have 113k+ miles. Car runs great... on third set up all season tires. No real reason to buy another vehicle. How long can I drive this car? I don’t want to drive until I run it to the ground. I need it for a trade, eventually.

2. Ronald Doles

Ronald Doles Active Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    We have driven Honda's since 1989. We were searching for a small wagon to replace our 97 Odyssey. The 97 Odyssey was not the bigger vans that the Odyssey has become but rather a small, 4 cylinder station wagon. We recently bought a 2015 Prius V and it is our first Toyota.

I am a retired electrical engineer who worked for 30 years in the automotive industry as a contractor. I have worked in all the manufacturer's U.S. plants including both Honda and Toyota. In my opinion, they are both committed to making great cars. Some of the other car companies, not so much.

I don't know what your car buying philosophy is but mine has been that you buy reliable cars, maintain them well and keep them until the first major repair (over $1000 and something that I couldn't do myself). It is much cheaper, both insurance and payment wise, than buying replacement vehicles every few years. My 85 and 89 Accords and 97 Odyssey were all driven over 20 years and 250,000 miles before a major repair was required.

There are probably many people on this site that have had good long term results with Toyota vehicles.

Raytheeagle likes this.
  3. fotomoto

fotomoto Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Another HV battery is in your future so explore those options and costs and see if that's OK for you. This is an issue every 2 gen owner has faced or is about to face.