1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Looking for advice on used purchase.

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by greylar, May 15, 2008.

1. greylar

greylar New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Hello All,
    I am new to the Prius world and recently decided to get one. Ha ha ha. It turns out there isn't one to be had in my area for miles. I did find what I think is a good deal from a reputable auto rebuilder. He has a 2007 pruis (i think package #2) with mild front end damage. It looks to need a radiator, hood bumper etc, but the engine looks in fine shape. He has offered to sell it to me for $20,000 after he rebuilds it and will provide me with a 2 month 2500 mile guarantee to fix anything that he might have missed that wouldn't be covered under warranty. Here are my questions:
    1. Since the Prius is a Hybrid should I be concerned that there are specialty components that will continually cause me problems down the road as a result of the crash?

2. Since this vehicle has been basically un-driveable, (it will start and drive but the radiator is damaged so I haven't done more than drive it on the lot), should I be concerned with the condition of the main batteries given that it may have been sitting for some time and will Toyota replace them under warranty should they fail?

3. Does anyone know how well Toyota warrants a vehicle that has been in a crash?

Thanks very much in advance, Greylar

2. prius729

prius729 New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Hopefully someone with more knowledge will chime in but the damage you describe does not appear to be mild. I would have a Toyota dealership(not sure if they do this) do a thorough inspection before you plunk down 20 grand for a damaged vehicle.

3. charansr

charansr Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV