1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Lumen® Fiber Optic LED Tail Lights - any experience?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by Prius_Gnome, Jan 1, 2020.

1. Prius_Gnome

Prius_Gnome Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Since I need to replace my 2010 tail lights, I went searching for any upgrades/mods over OEM ones.
    I know others on the forum have mentioned Valenti and Crystaleye, but has anyone had any experience with other ones? Specifically, this Lumen brand:
    Lumen® - Toyota Prius 2010 Black/Smoke Fiber Optic LED Tail Lights

I'm not a huge modder so I have no experience to know if Lumen brand is reliable or not. It does come with a 1 year warranty, and maybe my credit card will provide another year of warranty. Also, it's not that much more expensive over OEM ones at under $250 for the pair.
    I would appreciate any thoughts.

Thanks! And Happy New Year!

2. royrose

royrose Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Limited
    I replaced mine with a set of 2012 lights from ebay for about $150 for the pair but they were not LED. I just swapped the bulbs from the old lights.

The Lumens do look like they are well made and would look good. There's not much to go wrong mechanically, so you should be good to go.

Why do you need to replace yours?

By the way, your profile says you have a 2009 but your post says 2010.

3. Prius_Gnome

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks for the response.

I actually think there's too much red in the 2012 tail light. If I were to go the OEM route, I'd probably go for the plug-in version.

I have both 2009 and 2010 Priuses :) I don't think I can add multiple vehicles in my profile, and I never set up my signature.

I'm replacing the ones on my 2010 because:
    1. there's a water leak coming from the bulb area into the 12v battery compartment