1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Maintenance costs

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by chicagoprius23, Dec 18, 2016.

1. chicagoprius23

chicagoprius23 New Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I recently purchased a 2016 Prius, the standard size one. I absolutely love the car! I'm a tech geek so the technology is awesome! The idea of doing my part to move us away from our foreign oil dependence makes me happy as well. My question is this, what are my maintenance costs going to look like in the long run? I'm afraid those regenerative brakes are going to cost an arm and a leg, will they? First two years of oil changes and tire rotations are free, but after than can I take it to any oil change shop or is it a specialty oil change also? Like a Mercedes or Audi or something? As far as the traction battery I know they are lasting 2-300k miles so I'm not hugely worried there, but what about other maintenence..fluids..Trans filters etc..are these more expensive on our cars then the standard gas vehicles? Just curious to know what I'm in for with these cars. Thanks in advanced!

Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    how many miles are we talking? prius is almost maintenance free for the first 120k. do your oil and filters, tyre rotation.
    pay attention to the brake inspection and pin lubrication, and you won't have any maintenance issues. regen brakes is a misnomer. the brakes are the same as other cars, the regen takes place inside the transmission.
    some here like to change the tranny oil, which isn't in toyota's maintenance schedule.

RCO likes this.
  3. PriusNeckBeard

PriusNeckBeard Active Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Answers below drawn from my modest knowledge set: