1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Maintenance required

Discussion in 'Prius c Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Cee, Mar 21, 2017.

1. Cee

Cee New Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius c
    Model:
    One
    I'm new to the Prius C (2014) family, I bought my car through CarMax. I was wondering if it is safe to go to jiffy lube or should I go to CarMax or Toyota for oil change. My maintenance required message is on.

2. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    What's the mileage?

I would stay away from the quicky oil places, stay with Toyota. Even then bad things can happen, but they're definitely more reponsible, and will start a log on your car.

3. Cee

Cee New Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius c
    Model:
    One
    34510 miles

4. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    congrats and welcome!
    if you can't find a reliable local mech, take it to toyota. either way, check the oil level before driving home.

Cee likes this.
  5. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    you car only needs oil and filter every 10,000 miles. the maintenance reminder is for anything and everything. 35k would be tire rotation. it should have had air and cabin filters at 30k.

Cee and Mendel Leisk like this.
  6. Sam Spade

Sam Spade Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    Not really accurate.
    The oil change interval is 10K ONLY if not used in "severe" service and if synthetic oil is used.
    And I'm pretty sure that the maintenance reminder is one year or 5K miles.......so it only applies to something that needs attention every 5K miles.......the main thing is tire rotation.
    I take mine in every ~7K miles and do both tires and oil.

Cee likes this.
  7. Cee