Mandatory Update

Discussion in 'Prime Main Forum (2017-Current)' started by mad-dog-one, May 24, 2018.

  1. mad-dog-one

    mad-dog-one Prius Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    1,181
    417
    0
    Location:
    Whereabouts Unknown
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    ----USA----
    This AM my 2017 Prime Advanced showed “Mandatory Update” on the bottom half of the display. I was driving and didn’t have time to study the message, but tapped OK. The display counted up to 100% and and prompted me to install/accept or something similar. Hoping to update or add some marvelous feature, I accepted the update. Everything seems to be working as it was before my mindless acceptance, but I don’t know what I may have done to my baby. I thing this is an update of etune, but I’m not certain. Is there anyway for me to find out what has been updated and the nature of the update(s). Perhaps my prime is now invisible to radar speed detectors, can travel at speed of light, or has experienced a 10x increase in EV battery capacity.
     
  2. ems2158

    ems2158 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    191
    132
    0
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Got my update installed. So far I don't notice anything different. Still the same horrendously bad nearly unusable system.

    It took three attempts with three different Android phones before I could get a successful install.

    Toyota, please update this to allow Android Auto or Apple Carplay. I don't even own an Apple phone but would buy one just to avoid the Toyota Navigation system.
     
    panache and sonomac like this.
  3. I'mJp

    I'mJp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    628
    549
    0
    Location:
    Ma, USA
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Model:
    Three
    6 tries, update failed
     
  4. huskers

    huskers Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    2,512
    2,444
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Damn, is this something we all get to look forward to?
     
  5. sonomac

    sonomac Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    25
    11
    0
    Location:
    US
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Same here.
     
  6. heiwa

    heiwa Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    222
    214
    0
    Location:
    Central Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Mine installed without any difficulty. I wish Toyota will send a message describing the update.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    ttait likes this.
  7. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    14,923
    8,346
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    A promising new gate for hackers to park their Trojan Horses ...
     
  8. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    8,211
    6,575
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    Is this only for Advanced trim? I have never seen such notice on my Premium trim Prime. Then again, I don't use Entune app, so maybe that's why I don't see them.:confused:
     
  9. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    43,986
    31,549
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Kinda nuts that this is sprung on you while you're driving? I really don't like these interactive touch-screens they're foisting on owners, glad I'm back in the semi-stone-age.
     
    fuzzy1 likes this.
  10. PCPrime

    PCPrime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    110
    101
    0
    Location:
    Tampa Florida
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Do you power on your car if you are not going to drive?
     
  11. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    43,986
    31,549
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I'm guessing that's rhetorical, but couldn't there be some logic that the prompt would only pop up when the car's (say) in park. It's seems tantamount to texting while driving, that this'll pop up at any time.
     
  12. PCPrime

    PCPrime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    110
    101
    0
    Location:
    Tampa Florida
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I guess Toyota consider it is safe to press just once to answer the question while driving. Just like you press the Temperature Up or Down button while driving. Besides, that question was asked when you just power on your car, you might not have start moving the car yet.
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  13. juhjuhjuhjames

    juhjuhjuhjames Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2018
    49
    18
    0
    Location:
    seattle
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    it's for premium as well
     
  14. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    8,211
    6,575
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    Oh, really? Thanks for the info. I guess, it's only for those who have Entune app set up. I never even bothered with the app, so I have not seen any of update notice on my car for the last 10 months I've been driving.
     
  15. Diemaster

    Diemaster Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    271
    248
    2
    Location:
    so. cal
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I got this message yesterday morning when i took my mom out to breakfast. Now the software can support my amazon prime flux capacitor im waiting on. I already got the 1.21 gigawatt battery in the back.
     
    ruby and benagi like this.
  16. juhjuhjuhjames

    juhjuhjuhjames Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2018
    49
    18
    0
    Location:
    seattle
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    I installed it when I first got the car but have never used them. Honestly, having apps like yelp or opentable in your car is really useless lol
     
  17. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    8,211
    6,575
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    That's what I thought. Advanced trim has its own cellular connection, but Premium doesn't. So if I don't have Entune installed, my car should be isolated from the outside world (i.e. internet world). I think you only get those messages if your phone is connected to internet and linked to Entune app in the car.
     
  18. I'mJp

    I'mJp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    628
    549
    0
    Location:
    Ma, USA
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Model:
    Three
    It worked first time first try today.

    But I was driving, so I really have no way of knowing what it actually did.

    Release notes ?
     
  19. CraigM

    CraigM Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    208
    205
    0
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Can’t expect too much (any) difference since the download only took about 20 seconds
     
  20. Piwacet

    Piwacet Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    36
    18
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Can I ask a stupid question? Actually a few stupid questions? So this update would bring the audio software and entune software up to the latest version? But it's not an update to anything else, such as the actual firmware for the head unit?

    Which makes me wonder just what the "audio software " is.

    And to get this update on my premium, I would need to install the entune app package on my cellphone and then link this to the car?

    Thanks!
     
Loading...