1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Mechanical gremlins

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by ttatlanta, May 28, 2019.

1. ttatlanta

ttatlanta Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    2010 Prius with 240K miles on it. Last winter it began "sneezing" on startup – the ICE was shaking and rattling violently on cold startup, sometimes throwing P0303. Cleaned intake manifold and EGR pipe (not much of a buildup, as I do it every 60K anyway), replaced plugs (old ones were fine though), checked coils… nope, still rattling. Then a few cans of B-12 magically fixed the issue.

Fast forward 4 months. Few days ago my car rattled on cold startup, then functioned normally throughout the day (I'm an Uber driver and put 100-400 miles on my car every night). Next day, it rattled again, and again normalized after a warm-up. Then I noticed that the engine coolant level is on "Low" mark, so I've added some (I usually fill to the seam).

…and that's when the real trouble began. Now it rattles on every ICE startup, not just the cold ones. For as long as ICE is engaged, like when driving on a highway, the engine sounds and functions pretty normal… but stop for a minute on a traffic light, and when it turns green – GRTTTTTT. In addition to that, there's a weird sloshing sound coming from the cooling system – on every engine startup. You can make the same sound with a mouthful of Listerine, IYKWYM.

Sometimes it throws P0303, sometimes it could go through dozens of rattling cycles without a code. Sometimes it throws P0303 and fires up a CEL, then functions just fine for a few start cycles once I clear the codes.