Michelin Energy Saver A/S Review

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Fuel Economy' started by F8L, Jun 1, 2012.

  1. F8L

    F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    19,011
    4,053
    50
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA.
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Some people keep the pressure equal front to rear if they carry much extra weight in the rear. The reason for split pressure is to maintain even load characteristics on the tires. Inflation pressures affect load capacity and tire performance. The split pressure attempts to keep the tires reacting similarly to road conditions. Once we start jacking up pressures we kinda change this ideal setup so who knows what's really going on. :)
     
    LulzChicken likes this.
  2. F8L

    F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    19,011
    4,053
    50
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA.
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Update

    So Yesterday I beat my best evening return commute but since I deviated from my usual route (had to stop and pick up meds) it doesn't really count. This morning, however, I took my usual route to work and marked a new best of 55.6mpg! My previous best was 54.5mpg using Mike's tires.

    [​IMG]

    So as of last night I am sitting at 66mpg and 298 miles.
    [​IMG]

    This sort of driving is a bit taxing so after this tank I will probably return to 65mph driving so I annoy less people but my average tank should stay at least high 50s indicated. Either way I decided to start a new Fuelly car now that I am done testing all the cool new GenIII features and tire stuff. :)
     
  3. Insight-I Owner

    Insight-I Owner 2006 Insight-I MT + 2011 Prius

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    505
    98
    0
    Location:
    Essex, CT
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Plus when driving for MPG one isn't whizzing around corners, braking and accelerating hard, etc. So a non-ideal setup is less noticeable (and less of a problem). I just didn't bother with front/rear differential but one could easily do it.

    BTW my tires are now at 50psi.
     
  4. tedjohnson

    tedjohnson Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    318
    55
    0
    Location:
    Greenfield MA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    40,000 they still had a bit to go, but I got impatient
     
  5. tedjohnson

    tedjohnson Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    318
    55
    0
    Location:
    Greenfield MA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    yes that is what I did, got a $70 rebate as well, came in a week or two
     
  6. F8L

    F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    19,011
    4,053
    50
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA.
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I lost some ground today due to heavy traffic after a car burned to the ground on the freeway. I was at 65.9 mpg but couldn't recover. So this is where I sit. 65.7 mpg and 401 miles. Tomorrow will be a good morning commute without the terrible uphill part so hopefully I can get back up to 66mpg despite temps of 107F. :(
     
  7. Codyroo

    Codyroo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    1,826
    509
    6
    Location:
    Pleasanton, Ca
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I got my tires today. I had to have "a discussion" with the guys about what PSI to fill my tires to. They were insisting that they shouldn't inflate to Max PSI because the tires would heat up when I drive (no sht sherlock). Mind you, it was over 100F today, when the temp drops to the 60's tomorrow morning, I wonder what the PSI will be. Eventually, I convinced them to inflate to 44/42 PSI. Hard to gauge the mileage right now, as I've only driven to my Mother-in-laws and back and I typically get "lousy" mileage on this trip (indicated was 62.9 mpg when I got home, which is lousy for me, but maybe typical to my worn Avids on a day where I had to run the A/C.

    Also,

    Is it normal to have to have a Tire pressure sensor rebuild kit for new tires? That was $16 I wasn't expecting.
     
  8. Insight-I Owner

    Insight-I Owner 2006 Insight-I MT + 2011 Prius

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    505
    98
    0
    Location:
    Essex, CT
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Get an accurate tire pressure gauge (I use the EZ Air Accu-Gage Tire Gauges about $25 I think) and find out for yourself. When I did it, I was surprised to find ZERO pressure gain between cold and after driving ca 60 highway miles on a hot 90F day, when the tires were at sidewall pressure cold (51 psi in that case). I suspect two reasons:
    (1) Higher pressure means tires flex less and therefore less heat generated. I'd expect more pressure rise at lower pressures but have not tested that.
    (2) Hypermiling involves gentler driving, lower speeds, less braking and accel, so perhaps less flexing and heat into the tire.

    Your change in ambient temp from 60 to 100F could raise tire pressure by as much as 4-5 psi (at 44 psi), less if the tire volume increases a tad to accommodate the extra pressure. Again, you should check for yourself.
     
  9. F8L

    F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    19,011
    4,053
    50
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA.
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Here is the end of the tanks or close to it. I added another 10 miles but dropped to 65.3mpg because of the short trip to the gas station. I give up. This new photo uploading system is for the birds.
     
  10. The Critic

    The Critic Resident Critic

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    2,947
    1,841
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    It is a normal add-on for Americas Tire. The value of it is debatable, as they're just replacing the rubber seals that seal the tire pressure sensor to the wheel. Since your car has some miles on it, it is a worthwhile service.

    However, though this is the picky side of me coming out, I am not completely sold on the quality of the TPMS rebuild kits that they are using. I'm sure whatever brand they are using is adequate, but I'm extra picky. So for my car, I have not allowed them to rebuild my TPMS unit at all.
     
  11. ProximalSuns

    ProximalSuns Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    1,877
    20
    27
    Location:
    PNW
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    It's not as good as the other one but OK. I lost my "album" so started a new one. Upload the photo. That's about as easy. Then save it to your album. Still same. Trick is posting it in a message. The other one gave a nice url to copy. What you can now is Open the pic after you upload it. The right click and "Copy Link Location". Then paste that into the spot when you click on the Insert Image button. Works OK. Hardest part is finding your album.
     
  12. SageBrush

    SageBrush Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    11,627
    2,511
    8
    Location:
    Southwest Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Justin, I find adding a picture inline in a post is a snap now, at least using a computer. Are you having problems with a tablet or phone ?
     
  13. The Critic

    The Critic Resident Critic

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    2,947
    1,841
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Justin needs to give in and start ?. ;)
     
  14. SageBrush

    SageBrush Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    11,627
    2,511
    8
    Location:
    Southwest Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    I'm no friend of tapatalk. I didn't like it when I tried the software, and when I use my tablet without it, I get a dialog box every few moments asking me if I want to try it. It was enough to avoid PC.
     
  15. F8L

    F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    19,011
    4,053
    50
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA.
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    It's often difficult to add a photo from my phone. The old system woud open my phone's photo gallery with the usual GUI and albums but the new system directs me to a simple drop down list with ALL of my photos listed in a list style with no real oder and no icons so I have to scroll through a few hundred photos searching for a specific file name. THEN it decides to give me an error message after it tries to upload the picture. I cannot upload a picture from my iPad2 EVER. From a PC everything works just fine. :/
     
  16. SageBrush

    SageBrush Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    11,627
    2,511
    8
    Location:
    Southwest Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Is the iPad updated to the latest Safari version ? JavaScript is a moving target
     
  17. F8L

    F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    19,011
    4,053
    50
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA.
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Does the iPad even use Safari? I've done all the updates to the thing but when you go to try and upload a picture, the "browse" buttons are greyed out. This happens on every forum and on Facebook. Ont my Android phone they are there but the new PriusChat system changed the way it browses my phone which is a pain to work with.
     
  18. SageBrush

    SageBrush Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    11,627
    2,511
    8
    Location:
    Southwest Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Not too surprising, since iPad hides the filesystem. One of my pet peeves

    I'll guess the forum software will have to have iOS specific code that lets you pick the picture from your photo album or iPhoto. Lucky for us iOS is popular enough to make it worthwhile for developers to put the hook in. Eventually
     
  19. GSW

    GSW PRIUS POWER

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    537
    74
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I sent an email to Michelin telling them how happy I was with the Michelin Energy Saver A/S and was dissapointed that they were discontinuing the tire. They wrote back" MICHELIN HAS NO PLANS TO DISCONTINUE THIS TIRE". Where is this misinformation coming from?
     
    LulzChicken likes this.
  20. F8L

    F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    19,011
    4,053
    50
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA.
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Thank you for the quote! However, they didn't specifically state they wouldn't discontinue it in the 195/65/15 size. I seriously hope they are not going to discontinue the size. I need to call them. I keep forgetting. :(
     
Loading...