1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

misfiring / hesitation on accel

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by trip, Nov 21, 2021.

1. trip

trip Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello Folks,
    I have a 2008 Prius with 246K on it. Driving it in NC, but spent most of it life in the cold of Chicago.
    The check engine light does come on intermittently and many times shuts off after an oil change. It was on before yesterday and is still on.
    Yesterday I thought I would get it ready for the winter so I got an oil change, bought 4 plugs and an air filter.
    I'm not a mechanic and I don't attempt anything over my head. So I changed the plugs and filter myself. Everything went fine and no issues with anything as far as I could tell. It started up fine and drove fine during a 20 mile test drive and even seemed to get a couple of extra mpg's. However when I really accelerate, the engine misfires badly. I double checked the filter and made the sure the boots were on securely. No burning smell or anything like that. The only thing I can think it might be is I didn't have a torque wrench so tightened the plugs by feel.
    I'll probably take it in tomorrow, but wanted to post in case I missed something.
    Thanks as always. Tom

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    where did you get the plugs? there are a lot of fakes out there.

have you ever had the trouble codes read?

Moresnow and trip like this.
  3. trip

trip Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A