1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Modern 2015 armrest solutions?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by E46Prius, Aug 14, 2015.

1. E46Prius

E46Prius Active Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Yes, I've searched. Scoured eBay, this forum, Amazon, etc. Tons of generic armrest photos/products from a 1980s Chevrolet that do not apply to the 2012+ prius. There are some threads here but they're all old and nobody really has a solution. Now that it's 2015, has anyone come up with something? Is there a "oh yeah we've been doing that for years" solution? Sorry I am new to the Prius and am still learning about whats out there for it =)

The option seems to be to swap for a 2010-2011 armrest. Why Toyota changed to this horrible design is beyond me. It's like setting your elbow on concrete. That is if you are lucky enough to avoid the cupholder where my elbow just so happens to naturally land.

What is the official Toyota part# and where can I buy an armrest to swap? Is there a site where you guys have a diagram to look up toyota parts? I imagine it's not cheap.

The second option is for aftermarket--but nobody seems to make one. Why? I'd pay good money if someone made a luxurious/clean/OEM/COMFORTABLE armrest. I do NOT care if it covers or replaces the cupholder. I am looking for something extremely clean and high end looking. Not looking for a hodge podge home brew stick a pillow on here solution hahaha =)

What have you guys done? Is there a Lexus part that swaps in? It's the only part of the car that's a total and complete failure. How this passed Toyota's testing is beyond me. That person should be fired.

The other option is to PAD the existing armrest. Take it to an upholstery shop. But that doesnt address the cupholder issue.