Modify default view for 11.6" display?

Discussion in 'Prime Audio, Electronics, and Infotainment' started by jerrymildred, Mar 10, 2019.

  1. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    6,920
    8,520
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Well, I give up. I can't find an answer anywhere, so maybe that's the answer. But I'll ask anyway. I've only had this Prime Premium a few days, so maybe I missed something.

    When I drive I like to have the "Trip Information screen occupying the bottom half of my display. So, every time I drive I have to chase it down. There should be a way to tell the car that you want that there every time since I want it there every time. But I sure can't find anything about it in the manuals or online.

    Here's the screen I'm referring to:
    Screen Shot 2019-03-10 at 5.58.48 PM.png

    In fact, since no car maker has ever made a GPS that's worth the electricity it takes to run it, it would be nice if I could have some other useful info on the top of the screen. It seems a shame to waste all those pixels.

    Otherwise, I'm in love with this car. I think my wife is actually getting a little jealous.
     
    HPrimeAdvanced and Mendel Leisk like this.
  2. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    5,155
    3,890
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    If you are talking about 11.6 screen, my use of it is just about same length as you (a few days), even though I have owned my PRIME ~20 months now. No answer to your question, but AFAIK, you are correct that there is no way to "tell the car that you want that there every time". I have no use for the NAV 99.9% of times I drive, and I hate the touchscreen control, so I have the screen turned off most of the time. At least the car remembers to keep the screen off every time I turn on the car to READY. Screen off, No more bother.
     
    #2 Salamander_King, Mar 11, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2019
    jerrymildred and HPrimeAdvanced like this.
  3. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    6,920
    8,520
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    I like having the trip info, so I keep it on. And the map is OK to have there. But I rarely pay any attention to it.

    edit to add:
    As for having to chase down the trip info, it's only two touches of the screen, so not a huge burden. It's just the principle of the thing. If that's my only beef with a car, then it's a really good car.
     
    Salamander_King likes this.
  4. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    40,312
    11,833
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Technology
    I haven't found a way. It's annoying. There's a menu there that's buried (Energy Monitor, expand to full screen, tap top right corner) that shows you the amount of kWh you've regenerated. The reason is that the Trip Information (formerly Consumption Screen) doesn't show regen unless you're in hybrid mode.

    Also, in metric, the scale is wrong - it goes from 0-10kWh/100km. The car is rated at 15.3kWh/100km so it's really hard to get it down below 10kWh/100km. It's the equivalent of having the car display 75-100mpg. Well the car is rated at 54mpg combined so it's hard to see those numbers in hybrid mode unless you go down a hill. It'll be nice if the scale in metric was 0-30kWh/100km.

    In imperial, because you use miles/kWh, the scale is at least usable. (I think the Prime is around 4-4.5 miles/kWh?)
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  5. Marine Ray

    Marine Ray Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    682
    566
    0
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    How do you turn the 11.6" screen off? As far as I know it defaults to maps or can be set (each time you turn on the Prime) to display the car diagram w/energy usage.
     
  6. Marine Ray

    Marine Ray Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    682
    566
    0
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    What are the two touches on the screen to get to the trip info?
     
  7. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    5,155
    3,890
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    From the main MENU button on the right of screen, select Display. Then select Screen Off. As long as you keep your screen off when you shout down your car, next time your turn your car to READY, the screen will stay OFF. My screen has not turned on for over a month. My wife tend to touch the button and wake it up when she drives, then I have to turn the screen off again when I am in. :(

    scren off.png
     
    #7 Salamander_King, Mar 12, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2019
    Marine Ray likes this.
  8. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    6,920
    8,520
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    It's more than two now that I think about it. If it's already there, hit the info icon. If that's not there, hit the home button to get it. Then hit the "Previous info" or something like that. I don't have time to go look right now, but it's the second gray button from the left. Then tap on "Trip info." I hope I remembered that correctly.
     
  9. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    6,920
    8,520
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    I have a thread about that. Briefly, my comment was that I'm sure there were better prices around, but I like this guy's integrity and service, so it's worth a little extra.

    Mine shows the little 30 wh symbols on the 1-minute bars in EV. Are you talking about something like a total regenerated? That would be kind of nice.
     
    farmecologist likes this.
  10. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    40,312
    11,833
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Technology
    Hmm, I can’t find that :( the Trip Informatiom screen is empty for me unless I’m in hybrid mode. I can’t find the regen anywhere in EV Mode.

    Yes. Total per trip. It resets every time the car is switched off. It can be found through the Energy Monitor then the top right button that looks like 3 bar graphs.
     
  11. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    6,920
    8,520
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Hmmm. I wonder if US and Canadian versions are different.

    I didn't notice that before. I'll try to remember to look again tomorrow.
     
  12. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    6,920
    8,520
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    I looked this morning and saw the total mpg you mentioned. Unfortunately, I'll have to get a LOT worse mileage to get it below 199.9. I've got about 160 miles on this tank so far and all but 9.8 miles are EV. (y)
     
    Tideland Prius likes this.
  13. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    40,312
    11,833
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Technology
    Total regenerated, not total mpg.

    But if you're curious, you could always switch to metric and convert from L/100km. (1L/100km is approximately 235mpg US)
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  14. bb4srv

    bb4srv Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    123
    82
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Technology
    Just remember do not press the "Update" or "Clear", else it would clear the life stats for mpg
     
Loading...