1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Module HV battery chaos

Discussion in 'Prius v Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by loveithateit, Nov 3, 2021.

1. loveithateit

loveithateit New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I've read many posts, but can't seem to solve my battery issues (gen2 2004). Yes, I'm a newbie. Here goes...At exactly 200K miles all warning lights came on, including the red triangle. I drove it home (35 miles) thinking that maybe it was a 200K mile fluid change reminder or something. Had purchased it this summer and had already put 30K on it. Ordered an OB2 scanner and downloaded a couple of apps, including Dr. Prius. I had immediately gotten battery codes pointing to #4 module. There was a difference of 1.64 voltage with car running. Thinking I could change one module, I ordered two cells. Removed the battery and did a voltage test on all cells. #4 was way low, as were two other cells (#26 and #18). Ordered two more cells. In the meantime, removed the metal bus bars on one side of the battery where there was a lot of corrosion and cleaned them well. Took a dry brush and cleaned the posts. I did this up to cell #26. On the other side with all of the wiring, there was no corrosion on the bars and I was afraid to remove the harness, so dry brushed them for good measure. Removed all of the cells up to #26. Then put all of the cells back in and put the 3rd cell (#26) which I thought was faulty at position #1, as well as the companion cell and then companion cells to #4 and #18 (as i had replaced those bad cells). Put the battery back in and started. Used Dr. Prius and it showed that cell #1 was faulty, which I had suspected would be. The car wouldn't go into drive and I received the yellow triangle, along with the red triangle, etc. (Realized later that I hadn't fully engaged the safety block (didn't push down). Replaced cell #1 and the next one as soon