1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

More fuel for the ethanol-debate fire...

Discussion in 'Prius, Hybrid, EV and Alt-Fuel News' started by galaxee, Jul 1, 2005.

1. galaxee

galaxee mostly benevolent

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
  2. AfonsoSilva

AfonsoSilva New Member

Hi Galaxee,

thanks for posting the link to the Nature Article. Like you, I am a scientist (working at NIH - call me if you want to come postdoc here). I am in great favor of the Ethanol program. I am from Brazil, and I saw how it worked there. The major advantages:

1. fully renewable;
    2. The US (like Brazil) could supply enough to become 100 % independent of foreign oil;
    3. Would re-boost US farming to produce goods that would not compete with foreign farmers.

The environmental impacts mentioned in the article are, in my opinion, easy to overcome. Burning the sugar-cane crops in Brazil is done only because the country lacks the advanced technological machinery that US farmers have. In the US I am sure this method would not be employed with the corn crops. Furthermore, I would much rather to see taxpayers money spent on environmentally friendly technology development rather than see it go to finding ever more scarce oil reserves in the world.

Just my $0.02. We all need to debate this more and more. The only thing that is 100% clear is that we need to move away from oil. This is why the Prius is such a great car and this is why we need to fully support Toyota and Honda in pushing Hybrid/Alternative technologies forward.

3. galaxee

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Afonso- great to meet another Prius-driving scientist :) I have a few years before I'll be looking for a postdoc, and honestly the money might send me directly to industry... but I will definitely keep in touch. What does your lab study? We work on postop delirium as a side effect of general anesthesia.