1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

More Jacks, Jack Stands & Questions....

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by wr69, Aug 9, 2021.

1. wr69

wr69 Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    DISCLAIMER: jacking & jack stands are dangerous. All information provided at no cost and with no liability. the goal is to help as much as possible, but you are ultimately responsible for any potential actions and liabilities. I'm not a professional auto engineer, but hope this helps you. Your feedback will also help me!

First Off: Many thx to Mendel for his deep awareness of jacking up the Prius. I noticed he even posted and corrected a few folks on youtube. So either Mendel you are very bored, or a true champ, providing great information. thank you!

We have a 2010 and 2013 Gen3 Prius II. I spent time trying to get comfortable doing under-car work again. the oil filter and transaxle access points are quite far back and not really arms length on these Gen3's. This means you'll be pretty deep down under and may be applying substantial torque to a few things like the Trans. drain and fill holes. Some mentioned using a breaker bar, which means potential for some car rocking, during the "breaking".

I gave the old standard jack stands a whirl this weekend, with contact points of the front pinch welds (spare tire jack position). This didn't feel right, so I research some more. Here are some findings. A lot of this relates to using the official Toyota pinch welds for jacking the car, or using some other point. For example, just under the big bolt of the front end control arm. In one of mendels pic's, the shop lift has picked up his car from that point.