1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

MPG on highway

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by Jum, Feb 19, 2018.

1. Jum

Jum New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello all,

I'm a new Prius driver and as many have concerns about the fuel economy. I got a 2008 prius touring from a garage, recently serviced and warrantied, but after reading a lot on this site I do not fine the same figures.

What concerns me the most is the highway driving, where I get 35 MPG (33 calculated after filling the tank). After reading some advices I inflated my tires to 42 PSI front 39 rear (was around 28), cut heating or AC, and try to apply different driving habits, but got it up to 37 MPG only on the highway (see pictures)

I usually set the speed at 72 mph through the columbia gorge (portland-hood river). It's moderately hilly and usually windy. In both ways the fuel consumption at stabilized speeds seems to stay around this value.

The second concern I have is that the ICE always turns on over 15MPH. I can't stay in electric mode over it.

So the question I have: is this something I have to worry about? or should I investigate (battery, spark plugs,...).

Here's the questionnaire

- Have you read This Thead Yet?
    Yes

- What fuel economy are you getting and how are you determining fuel economy? (trip computer or manual calculations)
    35 by computer, 33 manually

- What fuel economy are you expecting and why?
    Expect 40mpg stabilized on highway based on readings

- What are the approximate outside air temps?
    50F

- How long are your trips?
    1h15min

- How much of it is city vs. highway? Roughly what's the average speed in overall and and of each segment? Is there a lot of stop and go driving?
    10% city, 90% highway

- What region/state are you in? (if you haven't set your location in your profile)
    Oregon