mpg readout

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by joefjr, Aug 22, 2012.

  1. joefjr

    joefjr Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    3
    0
    0
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    We just traded our '05 in for a '12.
    On the Gen II, the consumption screen gave you a mpg readout for the current tank of gas but I can't find it on the Gen III.

    Can anyone tell me if I can get the mpg per tank readout on the new car.
     
  2. Paradox

    Paradox Prius Enthusiast / Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    29,111
    8,583
    201
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    You just have to use trip a or b and reset it each tank if you want to have that now, it's not in the gen III. And if you want a running lifetime mpg just use the other trip. I use a as my lifetime and b for each tank...
     
  3. rpg51

    rpg51 Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    200
    12
    0
    Location:
    Vermont
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I was just wondering about this as well. It is going to take me a while to adjust to this new display after 4 years with a gen 2. I had the old one down to a science.
     
  4. Paradox

    Paradox Prius Enthusiast / Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    29,111
    8,583
    201
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    It was different switching from my 06' to my 10' at first but you do get used to it pretty quickly.
     
  5. rpg51

    rpg51 Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    200
    12
    0
    Location:
    Vermont
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Off topic but what the heck is going on with the display that shows tons of narrow bars in a bar graph. Not the standard rolling 5 minute mpg graph - the other one.
     
  6. Tim Bender

    Tim Bender Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    134
    43
    0
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    you have to hold down "display" and it will switch from 1-minute bars to 5-minute bars
     
  7. rpg51

    rpg51 Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    200
    12
    0
    Location:
    Vermont
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Is there a thread on the site explaining the features and use of the gen 3 v. gen 2 displays?
     
  8. alfon

    alfon Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    1,370
    266
    0
    Location:
    seaside, oregon
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I believe trip A & B will reset automatically after
    10,000 miles.
     
  9. JBoat

    JBoat New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    37
    9
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I use Trip A for each actual trip I do in the car. Gives a nice immediate feedback for how aggressively I'm driving. Trip B is reset only when I fill up the tank to full, which gives me a longer MPG per tank reading. Since I use Fuelly.com, I really don't worry about either, though I do always remember to record information when filling up the tank.
     
  10. F8L

    F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    19,011
    4,064
    50
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA.
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Mine didn't. :)
     
  11. priusincc

    priusincc Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    332
    16
    0
    Location:
    NV
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I was looking for the same read-out for mpg. I miss it too. With all of the other features Toyota added (like dollar savings???) , it's a shame they didn't retain this one. My next step is to see if the ScanGauge can do it?

    Update 8/28/12:
    It appears you can get the average mpg per tank. It reads with the trip mileage indications, after you switch the display to "Consumption" instead of the dollar value saved.
     
  12. a priori

    a priori Canonus Curiosus

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    3,083
    405
    23
    Location:
    Chicagoland (West)
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I do the same. Trip B is my fill-up odometer. Trip A is what I use for switching between "city" and "highway" driving. For me, "city" is anything that isn't consistent, high-speed highway driving.
    See the response above. Just reset your Trip A or (like I do) Trip B at every fill-up, and then you have your running read-out for the current tank. It also will show the previous five (or so) tanks in a summary/comparison.

    The best thing about the Gen III display is the Hybrid Information Display (or some such moniker). This tells you when you are driving in a more- or less-efficient manner. It really helps you learn "stealth" driving. In my Gen II, I didn't need that info, because I could feel the ICE shut off through my hands or feet (or ears!). In my Gen III, the "feel" just isn't the same, and I couldn't really be certain of the ICE shut-off point.
     
    JBoat likes this.
  13. Geistemite

    Geistemite Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    31
    12
    0
    Location:
    Menifee, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    They do, tried this two times to verify
     
Loading...