1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Muffler Replacement

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Cdgreg, Jun 28, 2017.

1. Cdgreg

Cdgreg Member

Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    XLE
    I've known for awhile that the muffler on my '07 Prius has a hole in it, but at this point I am getting a bit more proficient with my DIY skills and the leak is getting louder. So, I am ready to tackle the muffler replacement. I bought a clean used OEM muffler from a Texas eBay scrapper and a new OEM gasket. I also have an impact wrench, sockets, a wire brush, muffler cement, and anti seize.

I have watched this video quite a few times (not a Prius, but seems similar)

Question:
    I bought a couple 5/16th 1.5" and 2" bolts (not sure best length), 6 washers, and both hex nuts and lock nuts. I am a super noob, do I use normal hex nuts and then torque them to a certain specification or do you crank a lock nut on?

Anything else I am missing here?:
    1. Jack back corner up and remove rear passenger tire
    2. Remove 2 nuts/bolts that connect to the catalytic converter pipe
    3. Disconnect from 2 hangers
    4. Clean cat converter pipe flange with wire brush and clean "new" pipe flange
    5. Connect "new" muffler to 2 hangers
    6. Bolt new muffler to cat converter pipe flange with new gasket, muffler cement, anti seize 2 bolts, washers, nuts.
    7. Start car, ensure no more exhaust leak, put tire back on, lower car, take it for a drive or let it run so the exhaust heats up and hardens the cement
    Or anything else I should do while doing this job?

2. 69shovlhed

69shovlhed Surly tree hugger

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium