1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Multiple problems with my 2008. Please help.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Cathy Cravens, Nov 25, 2016.

1. Cathy Cravens

Cathy Cravens Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi. Newbie here. I am having multiple problems with my '08 that all came about rather suddenly. Here are the issues:
    no cabin heat
    intermittent illumination of red triangle/exclamation point light
    intermittent check engine light
    three other lights to the right of the red triangle the I can't recall the names of
    battery level shows one or two bars, then shows 5 or 6 within a very short time
    ZERO acceleration on hills, in fact, I lose speed
    ZERO acceleration when driving 70 ish at highway speeds and then want to pass or merge
    seems to be using oil, but mechanic SWEARS there is no evidence of a leak, nor can I find leaks in parking spot
    Also, the engine sounds....loud/mildly rough at speeds 45 and below (surface streets)

What on earth gives? This has been a super reliable car with 225,000ish miles.

Does it seem reasonable that it is the main battery? My thinking is that the power is random and the memory is having issues which causes the light issues. I am not clear on how that would affect acceleration or heat. I also think main battery because everything is happening at once.

Where do I even start? I did read on one of the threads that no heat could be a faulty valve or low coolant, so I will check the radiator for coolant level in the morning.

Please help. Thank you.

#1 Cathy Cravens, Nov 25, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2016
  2. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two