My 2021's Auto Updated Entune! Finally new features!

Discussion in 'Prime Main Forum (2017-Current)' started by robAlatte, Jul 31, 2021.

  1. robAlatte

    robAlatte Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2021
    34
    14
    1
    Location:
    Palm Springs, CA
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    Both of my cars did this today, shortly after starting out, the screen came up with an update which downloaded and I installed. Now, I have completely functioning Live Traffic Map and the Apps work! I like the fuel App! It's so nice to have the live traffic map.

    Ever since Toyota took away the Entune iPhone App for the 2021 model year, I figured I wouldn't have any functionality of these apps and the live map would only work once underway during a nav input, now it's all live! Woohoooo! I was pretty sure it wouldn't ever work after they combined the App suite into the Toyota App, but Yay! IMG_0415.jpeg IMG_0432.jpeg
     
    dig4dirt likes this.
  2. GSK

    GSK Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    142
    76
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    not sure i understand. you weren't getting the live traffic on the map right away? Mine showed the traffic as I was driving it away from the dealer
     
  3. robAlatte

    robAlatte Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2021
    34
    14
    1
    Location:
    Palm Springs, CA
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    Not mine but it does now!
     
  4. ETP

    ETP 2021 Prime(Limit),Highlander HYB Plat,B52-D,G,F,H

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    2,764
    1,155
    0
    Location:
    Auburdale FL
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    Mine updated three months ago but have not checked it out yet. I went online at the Toyota ETUNE site and there was a proceedure to block the constant update message. That seemed to fix eveything but I am still put off by all the complicated stuff needed to just have a few functions without the iphone hooked up via USB cable.
    My maps seem to work fine and I get traffic warnings in both vehicles without any cable hooked up. Maybe! Who would ever know for sure. I am in the no care bear mode.:ROFLMAO:
     
  5. robAlatte

    robAlatte Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2021
    34
    14
    1
    Location:
    Palm Springs, CA
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    My phone is only connected via bluetooth. I dont even have a cable in the car, now fuel stations, live traffic and weather seem to work fine but they did not at all before that update. The live traffic would only work under navigation with a destination input and it would take almost half an hour before it was active, now it works in less than a few minutes and seems to use the Toyota App as the app if you open it with the car on, reads "disconnect" so things are finally "talking" just fine in both my vehicles and I am happy to use the car as intended.
     
    ETP likes this.
  6. ETP

    ETP 2021 Prime(Limit),Highlander HYB Plat,B52-D,G,F,H

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    2,764
    1,155
    0
    Location:
    Auburdale FL
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    Not sure mine updated! Any ideas on how to check this?
    My Toyota app works so I will go out and open the app again and see what is going on.
     
    #6 ETP, Aug 5, 2021
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2021
  7. ETP

    ETP 2021 Prime(Limit),Highlander HYB Plat,B52-D,G,F,H

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    2,764
    1,155
    0
    Location:
    Auburdale FL
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    Well it looks the same! Etune update goes no where and locks up saying download the etune app and connect.
    My Toyota app seems to work fine and I may have traffic and weather on the map.
    etune is still hard broke on the control head since there is no etune app to download on the iphone.
    To me it looks hard broke for the etune app part unless you do the carplay thing. One thing I did not try is to hook up carplay VIA USB and see if I can update anything with a cable connected. When it was new, I tried this and was very disappointed. Stuff I did not need and you also need a large data plan to feed it.

    Really not cool for a new car.
     
Loading...